tonyjohnson

Well Known Member
I am at the point finally of putting my 8A on the gear. I dug out the wheels, tires and tubes to assemble them and realized that my inner tubes, and tires, were made in 1998. The main gear inner tubes held air, the nosewheel inner tube did not (probably due to my trying to my use of excessive force in trying to get the darn wheel into the tire)>

I am a slow builder and I don't think my 8A will fly for at least a year. My question is, should I use the 10 year old inner tubes on the mains, or thrash them before I fly? For the next year the old tubes, if they hold air, will do no harm. I could order new tubes now, or a year from now, or not at all.

So, would you use a 10 year old inner tube?

I am at the point finally of putting my 8A on the gear. I dug out the wheels, tires and tubes to assemble them and realized that my inner tubes, and tires, were made in 1998. The main gear inner tubes held air, the nosewheel inner tube did not (probably due to my trying to my use of excessive force in trying to get the darn wheel into the tire)>

I am a slow builder and I don't think my 8A will fly for at least a year. My question is, should I use the 10 year old inner tubes on the mains, or thrash them before I fly? For the next year the old tubes, if they hold air, will do no harm. I could order new tubes now, or a year from now, or not at all.

So, would you use a 10 year old inner tube?

Keep em, that is if you have a wheelbarrow.;)

wheel barrow

Tom,

Thanks for the mental image of a wheel barrow with aircraft tires :)

My plan is to use the inner tubes while I continue to work on the project for the next year or so. Before I fly I will replace them. The tires are another issue that I have not decided.

Funny landing!

Tom,

Thanks for the mental image of a wheel barrow with aircraft tires :)