RLrothJr

I'm New Here
Hey Folks,
I am new to the RV world. As a matter of fact I just purchased an RV-6. It is equipped with an o-320 and a c/s Hartzell prop. Any ideas on where I can find some info on how best to operate this engine and prop combination.
Rick

This is from my notes during transition training with Mike Seager in the -6. I used this till I was comfortable with the c/s and then adjusted as I saw fit.

Take Off: Throttle Full, Prop Full Fine
Climb: Throttle 25” MP, Prop 2500 RPM
Pattern: Throttle 18” MP, Prop 2300 RPM
Approach : Throttle 1800 - 2000 RPM, Prop Full Fine (use like a fixed pitch through approach, landing and go around, just make sure prop is full fine)

High Cruise: Throttle 24” MP, Prop 2400 RPM
Medium Cruise: Throttle 23” MP, Prop 2300 RPM
Low Cruise: Throttle 20” MP, Prop 2300 RPM

Slowing for Pattern : Throttle 14” MP till 110/120 then 18”, Prop 2300 RPM

Reduction order: Throttle - Prop - Mixture
Increase order: Mixture - Prop - Throttle

Also note that when pulling the throttle back keep pulling until under the target MP. When you pull the prop back the MP will increase. Don't be a slave to the numbers, close is good enough, fly the airplane.

Last edited:
Rick,

That is a very good guide that Mark wrote. Notice there is no rpm operation between 2000 & 2300 rpm. Check the engine & prop combo you have to see if there is an area to avoid. The 0-360 and hartzell on our 8 says avoid 2050 - 2250 rpm. Other than that, operate as prescribed in Marks email and enjoy the climb performance!

Numbers

If you like numbers, consider that the formula for HP is Torque X RPM, so changing either side of the formula affects horsepower. Without a CS prop, the throttle controls both MP and RPM. The CS just lets one fine tune HP for every condition.

YMMV

prop