VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > Glass Cockpit
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2012, 05:02 PM
gtmule gtmule is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 507
Talking Installing a GRT HXr in an RV-7 (oh, and rewiring most of the airplane...)

So I recently received my GRT HXr from Steinair, and it's time to start thinking about installing it.

First off, here's what she currently looks like:



Vacuum/Electric 6 pack, an ADI Pilot I and an ICOM A210. The wiring is nice and safe for a VFR only airplane, but it's a total rats nest, so most of it has to go.

I'll be installing the HXr and related bits, EIS, engine sensors, new fuse busses, a B&C 8 amp backup alternator, a small brownout battery, a GTX327 transponder and a russian clock like Vlad's (an airplane has to have at least one mechanical dial)

Here's what I've come up so far for a panel design:



It shows an SL30, but that's the model I had, pretend it's an A210. I'll keep using the A210 intercom until messing with radios later (see below).

The 3.125" cutout is for the clock (not correct but close enough for planning, haven't drawn it in CAD yet). The hole under that is for the mag/starter key switch (I've already got it, might as well use it, plus I think the key is a good extra way to make sure the mags are cold, I keep the key in the canopy lock when out of the airplane, nice visual check). The switch next to that will switch the GRT tach drive from Left to Right mag for mag checks.

The switches (left to right) are:
Starting/running:
Master, main alt, fuel pump, avionics bus (will be DPDT to allow for turning the avionics on with and without the brownout battery)

Emergencies/problems:
E-buss feed (from batt), Backup alt field, Autopilot servos off

Lighting:
Strobe, nav, taxi, ldg, interior

Then there are two alt field breakers

I'm putting the EIS on the panel for now just for passenger/co-pilot comfort/use but it would go away if I ever put in a second EFIS screen.

The plan right now will be to fly like that for a while till recovering the bank account and getting used to the GRT stuff, then add an SL30, 430W, 480, 530W or something else to start my instrument training. By/At that point I will have added backup attitude/altitude/airspeed information in the form of either:

The GRT android extender a tablet and probably a second ADAHRS (really likely w/o the second ADAHRS, somewhat less with)
another HXr screen and second ADAHRS (not all that likely)
A Dynon D10A or similar small EFIS (ebay is my friend)

The panel is designed such that the EIS cutout won't interfere with making a bigger cutout to add another HXr or other big screen if the time came wiout making a new panel.

The throttle, mixture, carb heat and flap switch will stay on the usual little subpanel below the main panel, no changes there (except moving the flap switch to between the throttle and mixture)

Headset jacks will go behind the seats somewhere.

Thoughts?

Part two will be ripping the current panel out, re-building some of the subpanel (to move the radios to the center requires filling one hole and making another, and the sub panel wasn't built nearly as nice as the rest of the plane)
__________________
Macon, GA (KMCN)
RV-7, Niner Fife Victor

Last edited by gtmule : 08-07-2012 at 06:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2012, 05:05 PM
tkatc's Avatar
tkatc tkatc is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,747
Default

I got the dreaded red X's for pictures...???
__________________
My ATC opinion is NOT an official FAA recognized opinion, so any advice you get from me is ONLY my opinion.

Track my RV7A!!

Bought my flying -7A
Building an -8! (Fuse)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2012, 05:10 PM
gtmule gtmule is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tkatc View Post
I got the dreaded red X's for pictures...???
Should work now, lemme know if it doesn't. Work won't let us use Picasa and similar so I had to get creative....
__________________
Macon, GA (KMCN)
RV-7, Niner Fife Victor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2012, 05:19 PM
Mike S's Avatar
Mike S Mike S is online now
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton Airpark, NV A34
Posts: 16,100
Default

Still not working.
__________________
Mike Starkey
VAF 909

Rv-10, N210LM.

Flying as of 12/4/2010

Phase 1 done, 2/4/2011

Sold after 240+ wonderful hours of flight.

"Flying the airplane is more important than radioing your plight to a person on the ground incapable of understanding or doing anything about it."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2012, 06:11 PM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 7,856
Default

If you're using the standard GRT EIS there is no need for a switch for the GRT sensors, for mag checks. Just wire both of them up. I think you designate one of them as primary. But the system will automatically use whichever one is working to give you an RPM reading during a mag check.

The HX will have a clock in it, so you don't need another one unless you already have one and want to use it.

I don't see the photos either.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-2012, 06:29 PM
PCHunt PCHunt is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,816
Default

Photos worked for me just now.
__________________
Pete Hunt, [San Diego] VAF #1069
RV-6, RV-6A, T-6G
ATP, CFII, A&P

2021 Donation+, Gladly Sent
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-07-2012, 06:49 PM
gtmule gtmule is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobTurner View Post
If you're using the standard GRT EIS there is no need for a switch for the GRT sensors, for mag checks. Just wire both of them up. I think you designate one of them as primary. But the system will automatically use whichever one is working to give you an RPM reading during a mag check.

The HX will have a clock in it, so you don't need another one unless you already have one and want to use it.

I don't see the photos either.
Good to know bout the EIS, I can eliminate that switch. The clock is entirely unnecessary but cool....

__________________
Macon, GA (KMCN)
RV-7, Niner Fife Victor

Last edited by gtmule : 08-07-2012 at 06:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-08-2012, 07:52 AM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 7,513
Default

ADS-B out?

People doing panels these days should consider the 2020 requirements.

A 327's cost goes a long way toward paying for a 1090ES enabled transponder.
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Project Sold
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-08-2012, 08:47 AM
Lars Lars is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 1,189
Default

Hmmm... that graphic looks suspiciously familiar

I shouldn't have looked at this thread, though. Now I am obsessing about that Russian clock. Very cool.

Agree on building in ADS-B capability. I've had my plane flying for less than two months and I'm already wishing I had it. Fortunately I have the GTX327.
__________________
Lars Pedersen
Davis, CA
RV-7 Flying as of June 24, 2012
1120+ hours as of August 17, 2021.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-08-2012, 09:08 AM
gtmule gtmule is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lars View Post
Hmmm... that graphic looks suspiciously familiar

I shouldn't have looked at this thread, though. Now I am obsessing about that Russian clock. Very cool.

Agree on building in ADS-B capability. I've had my plane flying for less than two months and I'm already wishing I had it. Fortunately I have the GTX327.
Yeah, I had to fix a lot of rebuild errors in Solidworks!

I live and fly in SUCH dead, empty airspace that I'm not overly concerned about it, and I alreayd have the 327, so doing a 330 (or whatever) would be easy enough when I add an IFR GPS (which is what compliant ADSB out requires at the moment, I think).
__________________
Macon, GA (KMCN)
RV-7, Niner Fife Victor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:20 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.