What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Unwanted Hole in Wing Spar

mikemalone

Any Ideas on how I can fix this mistake? The nut plate holes are for attaching the most inboard leading edge rib to the wing spar. As you can see, the extra hole impinges on the nutplate attachment hole. Could I just fill the unwanted bigger hole with a flush rivet and carry on building?

IMG_0342.jpg

My personal (note) opinion is that you can just deburr the hole and attach the palte nut at a different angle.

Not so sure about the edge distance between the two large holes. Probably worth asking Vans of their opinion.

Dan

Do the same edge distance rules apply when the hole is for a platenut vs a rivet? I'd think it wouldn't be as critical since the screw/bolt doesn't put the same sort of force on the hole that a rivet would. Then again, I'm just a builder, not a designer. :)

Not too bad.

Any Ideas on how I can fix this mistake? The nut plate holes are for attaching the most inboard leading edge rib to the wing spar. As you can see, the extra hole impinges on the nutplate attachment hole. Could I just fill the unwanted bigger hole with a flush rivet and carry on building?

IMG_0342.jpg

I would open the upper right somewhat snowman shape set of holes with a unibit until it becomes one bigger hole with no stress risers. Improvise the new attach points. Maybe use a one legged nutplate

Do the same edge distance rules apply when the hole is for a platenut vs a rivet? I'd think it wouldn't be as critical since the screw/bolt doesn't put the same sort of force on the hole that a rivet would. Then again, I'm just a builder, not a designer. :)

I have wondered that same thing. It seems like some of the bolts that we put through the longerons etc. would violate the edge clearance distances. I never really measured, but I assume that bolts don't put outward stress on holes similar to rivets.