VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 04-03-2020, 11:13 AM
FinnFlyer FinnFlyer is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Bell, FL
Posts: 523
Default How to mount W31- switch/breakers

I looked at the spec sheet of the Tyco W31- series switch/breakers.
It's not clear if the nut against the plastic housing is required.
If not tightened the housing flops around a bit.

I want to mount some of these so that the cylinder is flush with the nut on the instrument panel (visible, user side). Would that require three nuts?

Most of the ten used W31's I bought here only came with one nut.
Anyone have a good source for the 55-001B and/or 55-010B (curled) nuts?

Before posting this, I searched here For W31. They appear prone to failure. Myself, I've had a 10 amp W31 fail open in my RV-3B. Now I'm beginning to wonder if I really should be using these for critical engine/pump controls in an all-electric airplane. I chose them for simplicity, but now I'm worried about reliability. Most things (pumps, ignition coils, injectors and engine controller are redundant -- doubled) but I'm not happy with the idea that switch/breakers are weak links. (I do want some of the circuits resetable in flight.)

Finn
__________________
N214FL RV-4 Mazda 13B Renesis First flight 20 Feb 2021
N46AZ RV3-B Mazda 13B EFI -- Bought -- Flying
N993FL RV-3A Mazda 13B NA 575 hours

Last edited by FinnFlyer : 04-03-2020 at 03:36 PM. Reason: Spelling. 5 changed to 10
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2020, 11:18 AM
Raymo's Avatar
Raymo Raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Richmond Hill, GA (KLHW)
Posts: 2,331
Default

I purchased a CB/Switch for my single P-Mag while building (dual now). After reading of their failures, I opted to use standard breakers.
__________________
Ray
RV-7A - Slider - N495KL - First flt 27 Jan 17
O-360-A4M w/ AFP FM-150 FI, Dual PMags, Vetterman Trombone Exh, SkyTech starter, BandC Alt (PP failed after 226 hrs)
Catto 3 blade NLE, FlightLines Interior, James cowl, plenum & intake, Anti-Splat -14 seat mod and nose gear support
All lines by TSFlightLines (aka Hoser)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-2020, 11:41 AM
lr172 lr172 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 6,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FinnFlyer View Post
I looked at the spec sheet of the Tyco W31- series switch/breakers.
It's not clear if the nut against the plastic housing is required.
If not tightened the housing flops around a bit.

I want to mount some of these so that the cylinder is flush with the nut on the instrument panel (visible, user side). Would that require three nuts?

Most of the ten used W31's I bought here only came with one nut.
Anyone have a good source for the 55-001B and/or 55-010B (curled) nuts?

Before posting this, I searched here For W31. They appears prone to failure. Myself, I've had a 5 amp W31 fail open in my RV-3B. Now I'm beginning to wonder if I really should be using these for critical engine/pump controls in an all-electric airplane. I chose them for simplicity, but now I'm worried about reliability. Most things (pumps, ignition coils, injectors and engine controller are redundant -- doubled) but I'm not happy with the idea that switch/breakers are weak links. (I do want some of the circuits resetable in flight.)

Finn
Interesting. After three weeks of chasing what I thought was a charging problem, I just found that the Tyco CB (std non-pullable style) was introducing an increased resistance and was causing the EIS to read a lower voltage than actual. So, not sure that std CB's are without issue either. It took me quite a while before I realized that maybe my voltage reading was inaccurate.

Larry
__________________
N64LR - RV-6A / IO-320, Flying as of 8/2015
N11LR - RV-10, Flying as of 12/2019
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-03-2020, 11:46 AM
Mike S's Avatar
Mike S Mike S is offline
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton Airpark, NV A34
Posts: 15,902
Default Try Stein

Quote:
Originally Posted by FinnFlyer View Post
Anyone have a good source for the 55-001B and/or 55-010B (curled) nuts?



Finn
https://www.steinair.com/product-category/switches/
__________________
Mike Starkey
VAF 909

Rv-10, N210LM.

Flying as of 12/4/2010

Phase 1 done, 2/4/2011

Sold after 240+ wonderful hours of flight.

"Flying the airplane is more important than radioing your plight to a person on the ground incapable of understanding or doing anything about it."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-2020, 03:13 PM
FinnFlyer FinnFlyer is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Bell, FL
Posts: 523
Default Failed W31-

Here a picture of my failed 10A W31 switch/breaker:

http://drive.google.com/open?id=1zJS...Zkp8Xr3OsX0QyY

This looks to me like a design failure. Copper braid broke at the point where it's welded to a contact bar. Compare to soldering a piece if wire to a connector and not providing strain relief further up the wire where the wire is soft -- when wiggling the wire back and forth it will break at the transition from solid to flexible. Only one or two strands shows sign of electrical overload. The rest broken purely by mechanical motion (fatigue). BTW, this 10 amp switch/breaker was used to power an engine monitor (less than 1 amp current draw).

That would be at least one reason for these switch/breakers low rates of "Endurance Cycling: More than 6,000 cycles at 100% of rating, or 10,000 mechanical cycles."

BTW, when it failed, I did contact the manufacturer: "Sorry, expired warranty".

Finn
__________________
N214FL RV-4 Mazda 13B Renesis First flight 20 Feb 2021
N46AZ RV3-B Mazda 13B EFI -- Bought -- Flying
N993FL RV-3A Mazda 13B NA 575 hours

Last edited by FinnFlyer : 04-03-2020 at 03:29 PM. Reason: I can't get the image to show up! :( :(
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-03-2020, 03:30 PM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 6,063
Default

Age old problem with Tyco breaker switches, there's an old AD on them as well.

I have piles of these at the shop that I remove, I won't use them personally.
__________________
Walt Aronow, DFW, TX (52F)

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1900+ hrs, New Titan IO-370, Bendix Mags
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-05-2020, 01:12 PM
DylanRush DylanRush is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 50
Default

I just installed a new one of these in my panel. As I was rewiring, a 20 year old old Tyco circuit breaker started physically falling apart. Some plastic feel down to the floor. It still works, but I ordered a replacement for that one too.

Now I'm a little spooked about these circuit breakers. They are dead simple to replace; should we just replace them every 5 years or so? Is there an alternative that is more durable and shares the same form factor?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-05-2020, 02:09 PM
dlloyd3's Avatar
dlloyd3 dlloyd3 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Locust, NC
Posts: 442
Default

Yes, there is a 20 year old AD involving the W31 series in certified aircraft. I sold my Bonanza right before the AD came out. Had 8000 hours on it and in all that time, only one breaker failed. Landing light breaker/switch got a little hard to use, then became unuseable. Think it had about 5600 hours at the time. Only other time one failed was getting in the RV and caught my pants leg on the fuel pump breaker/switch. Bat handle broke off. I did have a couple Klixon switches fail in a Mooney with a lot less hours.
__________________
Dave
M20C
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-05-2020, 03:46 PM
FinnFlyer FinnFlyer is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Bell, FL
Posts: 523
Default Frequency of use

Quote:
Originally Posted by DylanRush View Post
I just installed a new one of these in my panel. As I was rewiring, a 20 year old old Tyco circuit breaker started physically falling apart. Some plastic feel down to the floor. It still works, but I ordered a replacement for that one too.

Now I'm a little spooked about these circuit breakers. They are dead simple to replace; should we just replace them every 5 years or so? Is there an alternative that is more durable and shares the same form factor?
I really think it's a question on how many times the switch is flipped (off/on).

It's like a piece of wire: how many times do you have to sharply bend it back and forth before all strands are broken.

Finn
__________________
N214FL RV-4 Mazda 13B Renesis First flight 20 Feb 2021
N46AZ RV3-B Mazda 13B EFI -- Bought -- Flying
N993FL RV-3A Mazda 13B NA 575 hours
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-10-2020, 01:31 PM
BlndRvtr BlndRvtr is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NE Where
Posts: 390
Default

Are the Honeywell switches constructed differently so as to be more durable?

George
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:30 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.