VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 12-20-2019, 02:33 PM
1bigdog 1bigdog is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 224
Default gemini rotary selector

Anyone used a rotary / selector switch as an autopilot master.
My intent is to select
OFF, ON (independent), G3X, GTN

Which switch worked for you.

Thanks.
__________________
Michael B.
C-FWMB (reserved)
College Fund Contributor
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-20-2019, 04:26 PM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 5,804
Default

Being that the AP is controlled by the G3X via the CAN bus I don't think your plan is feasible.
__________________
Walt Aronow, DFW, TX (52F)

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1700+ hrs, New Titan IO-370, Bendix Mags
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-20-2019, 04:34 PM
Paddy's Avatar
Paddy Paddy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Prosper, TX
Posts: 380
Default A/P Switch

You don't need a stand-alone switch to change inputs to the Garmin A/P. Select internal nav (G3X) or external (GTN) via the EFIS. Nav/heading/track mode is selected on the A/P controller. A separate switch to turn the A/P on and off would be required.
__________________
RV-10 N415JS
Slow build kit #40874
Homebuilt Kit Champion Oshkosh 2019
Atlantic crossings: 2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-20-2019, 10:25 PM
1bigdog 1bigdog is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 224
Default Trutrak uses this approach for failure

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walt View Post
Being that the AP is controlled by the G3X via the CAN bus I don't think your plan is feasible.
In talking with the folks at Trutrak a couple years ago they agreed with the approach of switching GPS sources. If the G3X dies the most simple and effective method is to have an independant switch.
If the G3X dies you can always leave the CAN bus leads tied to the Gemini and just rotate to serial inputs from the GTN.

Cheers.
__________________
Michael B.
C-FWMB (reserved)
College Fund Contributor
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-21-2019, 06:40 AM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 5,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1bigdog View Post
In talking with the folks at Trutrak a couple years ago they agreed with the approach of switching GPS sources. If the G3X dies the most simple and effective method is to have an independant switch.
If the G3X dies you can always leave the CAN bus leads tied to the Gemini and just rotate to serial inputs from the GTN.

Cheers.
Garmin's CAN bus is not compatible with TruTrak or a std serial bus.
If you're talking about using a TT AP with Garmin then yes you can switch 232 sources to the TT.
Not sure why anyone would use a TT AP with a G3X though.
__________________
Walt Aronow, DFW, TX (52F)

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1700+ hrs, New Titan IO-370, Bendix Mags
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154

Last edited by Walt : 12-21-2019 at 06:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-21-2019, 07:22 AM
1bigdog 1bigdog is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 224
Default Arcinc not canbus

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walt View Post
Garmin's CAN bus is not compatible with TruTrak or a std serial bus.
If you're talking about using a TT AP with Garmin then yes you can switch 232 sources to the TT.
Not sure why anyone would use a TT AP with a G3X though.
Hi Walt

So we stay on target, the canbus on the gemini is not used. Its ARINC and it does talk to the G3X. It documented in the pinout.
And the purpose of the G3X being primary is because I have an SL30 behind each G3X. The G3X paints the path for the gemini. If I loose the gemini it won't follow a VOR or ILS directly so I'd need to transfer to the GTN.

Hope that clarifies.
__________________
Michael B.
C-FWMB (reserved)
College Fund Contributor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:41 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.