VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > Glass Cockpit
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-18-2019, 07:14 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,096
Post New Capabilities for G5 based Systems, July 2019

Hello,

Today Garmin announced new capabilities for G5 systems including the addition of the GAD 13 OAT probe interface to support the display of Outside Air Temperature (OAT), True Airspeed (TAS), and Density Altitude for single or dual G5 installations.

Additionally, G5 single/dual installations may now be installed with one or more GDU 450 (7" landscape), GDU 460 (10.6" landscape), or GDU 470 (7" portrait) MFD displays and an optional GEA 24 engine interface for additional capabilities (provided by the MFD) such as engine monitoring, flight planning, display of ADS-B traffic/weather, and even COM radio tuning without adding a full G3X Touch system. You can even add a GTR 20 remote COM radio with 2 place stereo intercom and music support and tune this radio from the MFD.

The MFD in a G5 system interfaces with Garmin IFR navigators to show flight plans and instrument approaches just like a G3X Touch system. Standalone flight planning and GPS navigation is provided by the WAAS GPS receiver built into the MFD.

The G5 system with MFD can easily be expanded to become a G3X Touch system with PFD and additional ADAHRS units added later if desired.

The new GAD 13 OAT probe interface module is $495 list with a GTP 59 OAT probe and connector kit, or $149 for the bare GAD 13 without the OAT probe. Several 3rd party OAT probes are supported like the OAT probes typically installed on Garmin transponders.

The new software and hardware to add the GAD 13 and/or the MFD with engine monitoring will be available in August, 2019.

Thanks,
Steve



GAD 13 OAT Probe Interface Module

__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.

Last edited by g3xpert : 01-07-2020 at 09:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-18-2019, 05:31 PM
kaweeka kaweeka is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Roseville
Posts: 463
Default

My G5 is part of a complete Garmin system that includes a G3x touch and GTN, all connected through the CAN bus. Will the engine monitoring information be available with the software update? What other functionalities will this change?
Thanks as always for your endless support and imagination.
__________________
RV-9A N435KR, Vans calendar March 2018
LIO 320 B1A, Dual LS Plasma III, AFP injection
G3x touch
Roseville, Ca
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2019, 08:14 PM
Mark33's Avatar
Mark33 Mark33 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Baton Rouge, La.
Posts: 757
Default Display ADSB Traffic and WX

Am I reading this correctly...that the G5 will now be able display ADSB information? (WX and traffic)....and engine vital signs??
__________________
Mark H.
RV-7- IO-360, EFII, Whirl Wind C/S, (Built and sold)
RV-4- O-320, Catto three blade, P-Mags (Sold)
RV-8- IO-360, Hartzell C/S (Flying)
RV-7- (Building)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2019, 08:57 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,096
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaweeka View Post
My G5 is part of a complete Garmin system that includes a G3x touch and GTN, all connected through the CAN bus. Will the engine monitoring information be available with the software update? What other functionalities will this change?
Thanks as always for your endless support and imagination.
Hello Kaweeka,

Since you have a G3X Touch system, you already have a GEA 24 and a MFD which can display engine monitoring information. Nothing added here that affects your installation.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-19-2019, 02:37 AM
Dan 57's Avatar
Dan 57 Dan 57 is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: LSZF
Posts: 802
Default

great news, I?ll sure get one!
Ordered my 2nd G5 (and GMU11) a couple of weeks ago, reading wind and TAS is something I?m looking forward to
__________________
Life's short... Enjoy!

http://www.aerofun.ch

RV-6.9 #25685, slider, O-360-A3A (carb/dual Lightspeed II), MTV-12-B, HB-YLL owner & lover
RV-4 #2062 HB-YVZ airframe builder
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-19-2019, 05:07 AM
humptybump humptybump is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,181
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3xpert View Post
Since you have a G3X Touch system, you already have a GEA 24 and a MFD which can display engine monitoring information. Nothing added here that affects your installation.
Apologies for being obtuse but I?m struggling to parse this.

If I have a G3X Touch with GEA24 will I be able to display engine data on a G5?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-19-2019, 05:40 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,096
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by humptybump View Post
Apologies for being obtuse but I’m struggling to parse this.

If I have a G3X Touch with GEA24 will I be able to display engine data on a G5?
Hello Glen,

No. We appreciate that those of you with G3X Touch systems are looking at this announcement to see if there are changes that benefit you, but probably not.

Customers without a G3X Touch system, but with one or more G5 units, had no way to add engine monitoring until now. They can now add one or more of the 3 types of GDU 4XX displays and have some of the most important capabilities of a G3X Touch system.

Additionally, G5 customers without a G3X Touch system can now add the GAD 13 OAT probe interface and an OAT probe and display OAT, TAS, Winds, and Density Altitude on their G5 unit(s), which is something they could not do before.

Please re-read the first posting with this in mind and we think it will be clear what is being announced.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.

Last edited by g3xpert : 07-19-2019 at 05:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-19-2019, 06:24 AM
Thermos's Avatar
Thermos Thermos is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: KASH
Posts: 591
Default G3x engine monitoring on Garmin Pilot?

From the press release, it looks like Touch users now get engine data transmitted to Garmin Pilot over Bluetooth?
__________________
Dave Setser
CFII/MEI
EAA Technical Counselor/Flight Advisor
RV-7 N701ED Flying!
Nashua, NH (KASH) / Plymouth, NH (1P1)

Last edited by Thermos : 07-19-2019 at 06:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-19-2019, 07:23 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,096
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thermos View Post
From the press release, it looks like Touch users now get engine data transmitted to Garmin Pilot over Bluetooth?
Hello Dave,

Yes, that is a G3X Touch feature that was also announced for the next release.

Probably more important is automatic uploading of your flight log data to your FlyGarmin logbook via Garmin Pilot at the end of the flight.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-19-2019, 07:33 AM
Adrian Bonwitt Adrian Bonwitt is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alton, Hampshire
Posts: 26
Default Cost of probe..

G3x

Can you please explain why the Garmin OAT probe is circa 350 US dollars..just for the probe?

I realise you said that you can use other vendor's probes, but if you are going to all the trouble of installing a Garmin system I would be loathed to put in a different probe.

Am I missing something here?

Thank you!

Rgds
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:19 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.