VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 01-13-2019, 07:07 AM
kaweeka kaweeka is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Roseville
Posts: 463
Default Momentary blackout

I've been flying with my G3x and GTN 625 for almost 2 years and enjoying the many features and benefits provided. I keep everything up to date with respect to software and charts. Something interesting happened yesterday after a few practice approaches. While taxiing in, the G3x went black momentarily then re-booted with all frequencies and screens as they were prior to the event. This happened once before exactly as described. Just goes black and immediately reboots back as it was. I never could find a reason and I am stumped still. I checked all connections carefully to be sure. I would hate to be driving an approach to mins and have this happen again. Anyone have a similar experience? Any suggestions?
Thanks,
David
__________________
RV-9A N435KR, Vans calendar March 2018
LIO 320 B1A, Dual LS Plasma III, AFP injection
G3x touch
Roseville, Ca
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2019, 07:12 AM
rv8ch's Avatar
rv8ch rv8ch is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: LSGY
Posts: 4,323
Default Call Garmin

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaweeka View Post
...the G3x went black momentarily then re-booted with all frequencies and screens as they were prior to the event. ... Any suggestions?
David, strong suggestion is to contact Garmin - if it reboots due to a crash, could be HW, could be SW. Make sure that you are on the latest and greatest software, and ensure that the power to your system is reliable. I'm sure that they will walk you through to get it fixed, but I would not recommend flying it in anger until you're sure it's fixed.
__________________
Mickey Coggins
http://rv8.ch
"Hello, world!"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2019, 07:14 AM
Scott Hersha Scott Hersha is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 2,021
Default

A friend at my airport had the same thing happen last week, twice. Once in flight, in VMC fortunately, and once again while taxiing in. Just as you described with the G3X touch and GTN 650. Connectors were fine and power/grounds were checked. Bus power was fine during the event. No explanation.
__________________
SH
RV6/2001 built/sold 2005
RV8 Fastback/2008 built/sold 2015
RV4/bought 2016/sold/2017
RV8/2018 built/Sold(sadly)
RV4/bought 2019 Flying
RV6/Used kit purchased 2021 building
Cincinnati, OH/KHAO
JAN2021
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2019, 07:15 AM
kaweeka kaweeka is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Roseville
Posts: 463
Default

Thanks for the reply. I promise not to fly in anger.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rv8ch View Post
David, strong suggestion is to contact Garmin - if it reboots due to a crash, could be HW, could be SW. Make sure that you are on the latest and greatest software, and ensure that the power to your system is reliable. I'm sure that they will walk you through to get it fixed, but I would not recommend flying it in anger until you're sure it's fixed.
__________________
RV-9A N435KR, Vans calendar March 2018
LIO 320 B1A, Dual LS Plasma III, AFP injection
G3x touch
Roseville, Ca
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2019, 07:34 AM
Captain_John's Avatar
Captain_John Captain_John is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: KPYM
Posts: 2,695
Default

Yup, it happened to me once in vmc. That's why I have a G5!

CJ
__________________
RV-7 Flying - 1,400 Hours
TMX-IO-360, G3i ignition & G3X with VP-X
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2019, 07:49 AM
Nova RV Nova RV is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 577
Default

Happened to me 2x right after the last database update. The G3xperts gave me a set of commands to use to download a file with the error to an SD card but I have not been to the hangar in 5 days to do that.
**update** After sending the error file it looks like I was not on the latest firmware of 6.3, hopefully that was the issue and all goes back to normal.
__________________
Chris Moon
Leesburg, VA

CFI-I ASMEL, ATP

RV-14A kit # 140243 (flying as of 11/18)

www.mykitlog.com/chrismoon/

Last edited by Nova RV : 01-16-2019 at 02:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2019, 07:49 AM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 7,513
Default

TeamX needs to hear about these events and they will likely want to see you logs and a special shutdown error file.
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Project Sold
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2019, 08:07 AM
M McGraw's Avatar
M McGraw M McGraw is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Greenback, TN
Posts: 588
Default Yep

It has happened to me a few times. Always the left side. I wish I could say it was in VMC. I swapped the two screens and it still happens on the left side only. That leads me to think it may be power or ground related, at least in my case.

I have been working with G3Expert you will need to send a shutdown log as follows:

Procedure for collecting shutdown log on G3X Touch:
1. Insert an 8Gbyte or smaller SD card
2. Restart the PFD display in Diagnostic mode by holding down the NRST button during power up
3. Use Menu, Menu, Tools, Diagnostics to get to the diagnostics page.
4. Select Shutdown Log and then use the menu button to Save to SD card.
5. Email us the GarminError.xml file in the \debug folder on the SD card.
__________________
Marvin McGraw, 5TN4
RV-14. #140039 Complete
Flight hours: 750+
2021 Dues Paid
The Dues Paid note is a reminder for me
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-13-2019, 08:37 AM
kaweeka kaweeka is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Roseville
Posts: 463
Default

Thanks. I will do that this morning. Seems to be a common issue that needs to be addressed en masse by the G3xperts rather than one on one, as there are likely many more pilots with the same event experience.
__________________
RV-9A N435KR, Vans calendar March 2018
LIO 320 B1A, Dual LS Plasma III, AFP injection
G3x touch
Roseville, Ca
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-13-2019, 09:13 AM
M McGraw's Avatar
M McGraw M McGraw is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Greenback, TN
Posts: 588
Default Power issue

In my case, because it only happens on one side even when I swap the screens; it seems more likely the issue is within my wiring. With that said the G3X team has been very very helpful.
__________________
Marvin McGraw, 5TN4
RV-14. #140039 Complete
Flight hours: 750+
2021 Dues Paid
The Dues Paid note is a reminder for me
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.