VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > Glass Cockpit
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2017, 07:19 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,093
Post Garmin G5 Flight Display V4.10 Software

We recently released new V4.10 software for the G5 Flight Display and updated the manuals to cover new features.

The previous manual was a combination Pilot Guide and Installation Manual, but we released separate manuals with this update to make them a little easier to use.
G5 Pilot Guide
G5 Installation Manual

There are many improvements in the V4.10 software, but one we want to mention is the new ability to support up to 2 navigators.



For example, you can now install dual GTN or GNS navigators, and select either for navigation just by pushing the knob and selecting the Source select field. Page 31 in the new Rev. G G5 Pilot Guide discusses using the Source select control for GPS, VOR, LOC or VLOC connected navigation sources.

Installation and configuration guidance for the following dual navigator options are shown in the new G5 Installation Manual. Other options are possible including GNS units in place of GTN units.

GTN with GNC 255
Dual GTN
Aera 660/796 with GNC 255
Aera 660/796 with GTN

Another installation option we wanted to mention is a standalone GDU 370/450/460/470 display with a G5. Not only can the GDU 37X/4XX be one of the navigators in the system using its built-in WAAS GPS receiver, but when external flight planning is selected, it can also receive flight plan and navigation data from a connected GTN/GNS and show all of the curved paths and holding patterns being shown on the GNS/GTN unit, but with a much bigger display mounted right in front of the pilot. At $2,995, the GDU 470 offers a lot of capability and value and can also connect to various ADS-B and SXM traffic and weather receivers like the GTX 345, GDL 39/39R, and GDL 52/52R for a complete traffic, weather, and music solution.



It isn't necessary to buy a complete G3X system to get an autopilot with ESP (also new with V4.10) and many other capabilities.

Let us know if you have questions.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.

Last edited by g3xpert : 11-09-2017 at 11:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2017, 09:10 AM
Mark H's Avatar
Mark H Mark H is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN, USA
Posts: 97
Default

Steve,

Is it now possible with a G5 and standalone GDU 4XX to display the map full screen without an external navigator or is a GNS/GTN required for the display you show above? My understanding was that with a standalone unit the map would only display in a split screen setting. It sure would be nice to utilize that large screen for navigation and let the G5 be the primary flight instruments as describe above.

Thanks!

Mark
__________________
Mark Hansen
Indianapolis, IN
RV-7A N896PS - Flying as 10/19/2017
RV-10 Under Construction
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-09-2017, 09:57 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,093
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark H View Post
Steve,

Is it now possible with a G5 and standalone GDU 4XX to display the map full screen without an external navigator or is a GNS/GTN required for the display you show above? My understanding was that with a standalone unit the map would only display in a split screen setting. It sure would be nice to utilize that large screen for navigation and let the G5 be the primary flight instruments as describe above.

Thanks!

Mark
Hello Mark,

It has always been possible to install a standalone GDU 37X or GDU 4XX display (with or without a G5) and have it operate as a full screen map.

The GNS/GTN has nothing to do with that.

Keep in mind that if you have an ADAHRS or other G3X/G3X Touch components connected to the display using the CAN bus it is no longer just a standalone MFD with map and becomes a G3X system which will insist on showing the PFD information full time. That has probably been the confusion.

Note that in a system like this, the GDU 470 is not connected to the CAN bus that the G5 units, servos, and GMU 11 are connected to. The GDU 470 is providing navigation data to the G5 and autopilot using RS-232.



The panel mount GDU 470 in the above picture is providing the same function as the Aera 660 in this example system. Using just the flight planning and navigation features of the GDU 470 or Aera 660, you can even fly autopilot coupled VNAV descents to pattern altitude at the destination airport by just pushing the VNAV button on the GMC 307 during cruise.



Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.

Last edited by g3xpert : 11-09-2017 at 11:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-2017, 10:47 AM
Dan Langhout's Avatar
Dan Langhout Dan Langhout is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL USA
Posts: 611
Default 37X ?

Quote:
Another installation option we wanted to mention is a standalone GDU 450/460/470 display with a G5. Not only can the GDU 4XX be one of the navigators in the system using its built-in WAAS GPS receiver, but when external flight planning is selected, it can also receive flight plan and navigation data from a connected GTN/GNS and show all of the curved paths and holding patterns being shown on the GNS/GTN unit, but with a much bigger display mounted right in front of the pilot. At $2,995, the GDU 470 offers a lot of capability and value and can also connect to various ADS-B and SXM traffic and weather receivers like the GTX 345, GDL 39/39R, and GDL 52/52R for a complete traffic, weather, and music solution.
So does this apply to the 37X units as well? I am assuming not since you didn't specifically mention it (but I can always hope ).
__________________
Dan Langhout
2021 =VAF= Dues PAID . . . . .
RV-7 N528DP slow build
First Flight July 26th, 2014
837 hours and counting . . . .
28 Pilots N Paws Flights
Now based at Moontown (3M5)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-09-2017, 11:52 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,093
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Langhout View Post
So does this apply to the 37X units as well? I am assuming not since you didn't specifically mention it (but I can always hope ).
Hello Dan,

Yes, as mentioned in the previous posting:

Quote:
It has always been possible to install a standalone GDU 37X or GDU 4XX display (with or without a G5) and have it operate as a full screen map.
I will update the original post to include GDU 37X. Thanks for reminding me.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-09-2017, 09:47 PM
HSANTIBANEZ HSANTIBANEZ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chile, Valparaiso
Posts: 298
Default

Dear Steve, will the G5 display wind speed and direction?


Best Regards,

Hernan
__________________
Hern?n Santib??ez
Valpara?so, Chile

RV-7 TMX-IO-360 G3X and VPX Flying over Chile
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-10-2017, 07:21 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,093
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by HSANTIBANEZ View Post
Dear Steve, will the G5 display wind speed and direction?


Best Regards,

Hernan
Hello Hernan,

No, not currently.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-07-2018, 09:37 PM
Mlidzct Mlidzct is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Southington, Ct
Posts: 86
Default

If I put together a basic system as shown above, with the exception of the stand alone mfd being a gdu 370, can the 370 be used for engine monitoring and remote xponder control if not setup as a full g3x?
__________________
RV-7A QB under construction
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-08-2018, 05:34 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,093
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mlidzct View Post
If I put together a basic system as shown above, with the exception of the stand alone mfd being a gdu 370, can the 370 be used for engine monitoring and remote xponder control if not setup as a full g3x?
Hello Mlidzct,

Not currently. Those are two features which really push the system over into G3X territory.

To control a remote transponder you need a GSU 25, which in combination with one or more displays, a GMU 11 magnetometer, and OAT probe is a basic G3X system.

Add the GEA 24 engine monitoring interface to that for the engine gauges.

If you already have engine monitoring and panel mount COM and Transponder, the system below starts to make sense (for traffic, weather, flight planning, navigation, autopilot, etc), but otherwise the basic G3X Touch system is probably the most attractive and cost effective.



For a single display system in most aircraft, the 10.6" GDU 460 is really hard to beat since it provides the space and user interface to do everything well.


Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-08-2018, 09:49 AM
gyoung's Avatar
gyoung gyoung is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 309
Default

Is there a SW release with this feature for the certified units?
Can an SL-30 be used as the 2nd source?
Will the HSI display both sources?

I just installed 2 G-5's in my Navion and love them.
__________________
Greg

1950 Navion - flying
RV-6 - first flight 5/6/2021
1940 Rearwin Cloudster project in progress
4 L-2 projects on deck
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.