- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

Old 02-21-2017, 06:07 PM

Default I'm a new Intrument Pilot

Last fall, I set out to gain my Instrument rating. I did all of the training in my RV-6A and today passed my check-ride. I thought it was a great experience to learn these skills in my RV, as they taught me from the very beginning how diligent you must be on flying the airplane and that any distraction can allow you to wander. I think back to my first lesson and how far behind the airplane I was. I suppose it could be discouraging for some, but when it finally comes together, it is a great sense of accomplishment. I have to say that the advanced EFIS technology really makes some of this easy enough that I sometimes feel like I am cheating. My partial panel was covering the HXr and flying off the Mini-X With that said, I appreciate that I am ill equipped to fly a 6 pack airplane and would get rededial training if I ever chose to fly one.

To those that are considering going for their rating in their RV, I would encourage you to do so. The upside here is that I feel comfortable and confident in the airplane that I will be flying.

Thanks to those here that helped me by being a safety pilot!

Larry
Old 02-21-2017, 06:35 PM

Congrats on your new rating!! Nothing wrong with taking another couple lessons and flying a rental with a six pack + instructor.

I did the first part of my instrument training in a Diamond DA40 with a G1000. About 1/2 of the way through my training the DA40 was taken offline. I completed the rest of my training in an old 6-pack 172 with a 430. It was an interesting experience to say the least!

You can also just fly a simulator like FSX and select an airplane with a 6-pack. Probably a cheaper option. I fly a sim 2-3 times a week to stay somewhat current in between getting out to fly real approaches.
Looks like an airplane!
Molalla, OR
Old 02-21-2017, 06:58 PM