Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

Go Back   VAF Forums > Main > RV General Discussion/News
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-22-2016, 06:55 PM

Default RV's at U.S. National Aerobatic Championships (OFFA 70+)

We have arrived! Bill "WillyEyeball" McLean and I arrived at North Texas Regional Airport (KGYI) this "afternoon. It's a "Bucket List" for both of us old geezers: a first attempt at IAC competition at the national level! Bill has been flying his RV-4 in competition for a few years longer that me and he does things with that old -4 that you wouldn't believe. And he does it with 160 horsepower and a fixed pitch prop! I have seen him wipe up the tarmac with Extras and Pitts so I'm anxious to see what he does here in Texas. Bill is an optometrist by trade and does research projects for the US Army at Fort Rucker. (Thus the WillyEyball handle.) He signed up with the Air Force early on and was denied a pilot slot because of less-than-perfect vision. Besides, they said that pilots are as comon as dirt. What they needed was an optometrist.
We met up in Grenada, Mississippi on the way to Texas so we could spend a few days together practicing our Sportsman routines before heading to Texas. Bill lives in southern Alabama and I live in North Carolina, so Grenada was a great place to meet and they have an aerobatic box right on the field!

We will get techinical inspections done on the airplanes tomorrow morning. Practice time in the box on Friday and Saturday, then the fun begins in Sunday. I'll post the schedule soon so anyone in the vicinity of Sherman, Texas can come watch the fun!
My Aerobatic Video
My Formation Video
CAF B-25 - Airbase Arizona
VAF 2022 Donor
Old 09-23-2016, 06:01 AM

Very cool! Good luck, have fun, and fly safe!
Old 09-23-2016, 06:32 AM

Default Good Luck Guys!

Have fun, fly safe and keep us updated! Pix's, videos and scores!
MT 3 Blade CS
C-182 N3159F