What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Broken piece on corner of tilt canopy

ChuckGant

Well Known Member
Hello all,
I am a brand new owner of an RV-7. Upon putting it in the hangar for the first time, the struts failed to hold the tilt canopy open and it slammed shut, chipping a piece off of the right rear corner and causing a 4" crack. I've done a search and read about all of the other cracked canopies out there. As I am new to this, I'd just like a sanity check on how to fix it. From what I've read:

1. Drill a pilot hole at the end of the crack. What size? 1/16" or 3/16"?
2. Use Weld-on #3 in the crack.
3. Use Weld-on #16 to glue the chipped piece back on.

Do you all think this will do the trick? The airplane hasn't been painted yet, so should I replace the canopy first and then get it painted, or is this so common that I should just live with it?

Any recommendations for stronger struts? It doesn't take much for the weight of the canopy to overcome the ones on the plane now.

Thanks,
Chuck

Canopy%20Chip_zpsn248qice.jpg

OTOH, I would repair the canopy by stop drilling and gluing or "Plastic Welding". The repairs will never be in your line of sight when you are in flight.

And think how many times you can tell the story!!! :p

Take A Deep Breath

I'd consider fixing it as follows:
1. Stop drill the crack. Make certain you're at the end of or even beyond the visible crack. DO NOT USE STANDARD DRILLS. They can cause even more damage.
2. Glue the broken piece back in place. Use Sika or some other agent compatible with plexi (acrylic).
3. Add a targa strip wide enough to to cover the damage. It will help with rain protection, look good, and can be painted to match when you're ready to do the whole aircraft.