Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

Go Back   VAF Forums > Main > RV Ongoing Maintenance Issues
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-22-2015, 09:31 PM

Default Broken piece on corner of tilt canopy

Hello all,
I am a brand new owner of an RV-7. Upon putting it in the hangar for the first time, the struts failed to hold the tilt canopy open and it slammed shut, chipping a piece off of the right rear corner and causing a 4" crack. I've done a search and read about all of the other cracked canopies out there. As I am new to this, I'd just like a sanity check on how to fix it. From what I've read:

1. Drill a pilot hole at the end of the crack. What size? 1/16" or 3/16"?
2. Use Weld-on #3 in the crack.
3. Use Weld-on #16 to glue the chipped piece back on.

Do you all think this will do the trick? The airplane hasn't been painted yet, so should I replace the canopy first and then get it painted, or is this so common that I should just live with it?

Any recommendations for stronger struts? It doesn't take much for the weight of the canopy to overcome the ones on the plane now.

Thanks,
Chuck

Old 11-22-2015, 10:15 PM

Smile

I would replace the canopy before painting and add canopy guides to greatly reduce the chances of a re-occurrence -

http://www.vansairforce.com/communit...8&postcount=10
RV-6A N61GX - finally flying
Grumman Tiger N12GA - flying
La Cholla Airpark (57AZ) Tucson AZ
Old 11-22-2015, 11:05 PM

OTOH, I would repair the canopy by stop drilling and gluing or "Plastic Welding". The repairs will never be in your line of sight when you are in flight.

And think how many times you can tell the story!!!
Pete Hunt, [San Diego] VAF #1069
RV-6, RV-6A, T-6G
ATP, CFII, A&P

2021 Donation+, Gladly Sent
Old 11-23-2015, 04:49 AM

Default Take A Deep Breath

I'd consider fixing it as follows: