What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

When is a low time Aircraft a problem.

Spur03

I'm New Here
My background is almost exclusively military and commercial, but after a flight with a friend for confirmation, I'm on the hunt for an 8 or 8A to purchase.
I've held off on making an offer on 2 different planes on Bstormers because the logbooks showed what I thought was an excessive amount of time in the hangar with no flying. I've watched all of the Savvy Aviation EAA webinars and am concerned about 15+ year old planes with only a couple hundred hours having issues including corrosion or rust in the engine.
After I see these planes sell, I need to ask...Am I being too conservative?
Should I go ahead and contract up and have it borescoped and have an oil analysis done on the prebuy before I discount the aircraft...or just make sure I have a reserve set aside for a rebuild?
I'm hoping to find the right plane soon and going to Oshkosh for the first time next month. I hope to see some great planes for sale there.
Thanks in advance for any advice!
-Steve

I think your concern is justified. One consideration is where has the plane been sitting? On the coast? Florida? Not all of California is dry either. Sometimes it is hard to figure out the history. It may be an Arizona plane now, but where was it 5 years ago? That said engine oil becomes corrosive regardless of location, but a humid environment will make it worse.

Just me

I would look at it differently. A good RV doesn’t come on the market very often. If you find a plane you like, but it has been a hangar queen, how many months will it take to get the engine and prop overhauled? It might be less time than just waiting for a qood quality flyer to come on the market. Also, the good quality flyers that come on the market get top dollar, whereas a hangar queen can usually be had at a substantial discount.