What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Deburring Chatter Marks

atalla

Well Known Member
Ok so I'll get right to it.
Not happy with these marks at all. If deburring is to reduce stress that could form a crack these marks can't be helping. Im a new builder. This was done with a standard 3 flute countersink cutter that has come with most of our tool kits. I do have mine attached to a low RPM cordless screwdriver. While using it i only use the weight of the tool it self as I'm worried about over doing it.1 rpm per hole. (I have a timing mark on the cutter). While I do have a Zero flute cutter on the way I just wanna ask you guys if you think this is still Airworthy.

Thoughts?

Deburing

Are you deburring after dimpling or before?
Just wondering.
Personally I use reamers. Almost no bur which means almost no deburring.
I prefer a hand speed tool with almost no pressure. Two turns is plenty.
Some scuff the skin with maroon scotchbrite to remove the burrs.
It takes almost no pressure or effort on a skin.

As far as thise holes, rub them with scotchbrite and build on.

Last edited:
Single flute

On it 100%

Good luck. Cleveland hasn't sold them for weeks. Aircraft Tool might have them in stock again. I quit using them after snapping the pilot off my second one.
Best of luck with the search.

I recommend you ditch the power tool.
A sharp 3 flute deburring tool needs no more than 1/2 - 3/4 turn to do the job.

Most rooky builders way over deburr. Using a power tool makes the likelihood of that even higher in my opinion.

I agree it looks like you are deburring after dimpling? If so, why?

Gentlemen,

Good luck. Cleveland hasn't sold them for weeks. Aircraft Tool might have them in stock again. I quit using them after snapping the pilot off my second one.
Best of luck with the search.