What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

How to read engineering drawings

salty

Well Known Member
When reading the left side of figures 3 & 4, is there an assumption that the part is sitting flat with the angled portion of the part extending toward you? I can't see any cues on the drawing that makes that certain, but I'm no engineer, I don't know if this is always an assumption or something.

You could also be looking at the part from the flat side with the angle extending away from you, which in this case, would matter since the part isn't symmetrical.

I'm just curious if I'm missing something, whether it is on the drawing, or a convention I'm not aware of.

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2021-03-03 at 1.01.01 PM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2021-03-03 at 1.01.01 PM.jpg
    173.8 KB · Views: 390
These drawings are usually based upon the X, Y, Z coordinate system. Different views are usually based upon rotating the part 90 degrees. Normally the view is perpendicular to the part in the basic views. This is a very standard way of showing different aspects of a part.

Think of having the part in your hand and rotating 90 degrees then that is what you would see. If it is a horizontal rotation normally the view is drawn to the side of the part. If it is a vertical rotation the view is normally drawn above or below the part.

I am an engineer and I have often wondered about the difficulty of someone who doesn't have any background at looking at mechanical drawings with learning this skill.