What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Buying an RV-4

RV4ME

Hi Everyone,

I am looking for some advice on the purchase of a RV-4. I am a low time tailwheel Pilot (10 hours) and was wondering if the 4 would be a handful. I have been in an 8 at seems pretty docile. Most if not all landings will be on pavement. Second, I am seeing some 4s with 1700-2000 hours on the airframe up for sale. Is there definitely one area to inspect if I consider a purchase.

Thanks for your time,

Tony

Welcome to VAF, Tony. A -4 is very docile during landing/takeoff ops...no problem. You really should have an EAA'r or someone familiar with RV's, do a pre-buy inspection. Wrinkled lower firewall corners, for example, are as a result of very hard landing at some point.

Best,

The -4 almost shouldn't count as tailwheel time it's so easy. Saying that.... Do not put anyone in the back until you have many hours in the -4. When it is tail heavy it is touchy at best when landing.

Like Pierre said, the firewall gussets and firewall are common problems on the -4. I don't think my -4 has had a hard landing but the firewall can oilcan now from years of use.

One of the greatest airplanes every made. Enjoy it.

Welcome to VAF!

Tony,
welcome.gif
to the good ship VAF.

Ditto what Pierre said.

RV-4 as initial Tailwheel Airplane

Tony,

I also previously bought an RV-4 as my first tailwheel airplane. At the time I had barely 25 hours in a 7KCAB Citabria. I then got 5 hours in an RV-7 as a way to transition to the RV-4. It took me about 10 hours until I finally started feeling comfortable, but I found the RV-4 to be a very forgiving and nice taildragger. To me, it was easier to land than the Citabria, and certainly easier than the RV-7 because you have great visibility on landing.