What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

DYNON heated pitot ideas

cbennet1

Well Known Member
Hi all,

Planning to install in my 6 in the near future and although it seems straight forward, whenever I see others installations of devices I also have, there is almost always great ideas that did not occur to me!

So if you’ve installed the DYNON pitot in your 6, please share any tips and even better pics of your install.

Thanks in advance,
Craig

That heated pitot and especially the mast that it requires is a pretty robust piece of equipment. I'm no airplane mechanic, but I'd be uncomfortable mounting it on an inspection plate. The mast on mine is mounted secured to an adjacent rib and the spar. It's very rigid.

(I didn't install it..it was put in by a previous A&P a few years ago. I was looking at it closely as I was after-the-fact attaching an AOA line).

Attachments

• dynon.PNG
    dynon.PNG
    338.9 KB · Views: 243
Last edited:
That heated pitot and especially the mast that it requires is a pretty robust piece of equipment. I'm no airplane mechanic, but I'd be uncomfortable mounting it on an inspection plate. The mast on mine is mounted secured to an adjacent rib and the spar. It's very rigid.
SNIP

+1
Install along the same lines as the photo.

Carl

+1 for installing on a cover. Yes, a doubler will be needed to stiffen the plate. The method for installing in the photo above is more robust, assuming you are still building the wings.

inspection plate strength

If one is concerned with the strength of the inspection plate which has a bunch of screws holding it in place anyway. Just make a new one out of .040 instead of the standard wing .025? And if that isn't enough add a doubler to it. Makes for easy access and service.
Art

Thanks!