What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-6 Speeds

quinnjim

I just put an RV-6A under contract. It has the O-360 Lycoming.

Does anyone know what the speeds are?

Vx,Vy, Best glide and final approach speeds?

I’m not sure if these speeds are different for each plane (I’m new to Experimental aircraft).

Welcome to the dark side! Experimental aviation is the best, but please please please get some instruction by either an RV instructor or at least someone experienced with experimentals. Your question shows your inexperience, while these numbers are good to know, the more experienced pilot would talk with the previous owner and review the manual or numbers that the original builder hopefully found during his 40 hour phase 1. This is not me insulting you, and please don’t take it as talking down to you, I just want you to succeed in this!

The speeds you are looking for vary from plane to plane. Constant speed props can climb at lower air speeds because they can make full RPM (and full hp potential) at the slower speeds and more efficient AOA. Fixed pitch props may be set up for cruise speed in most RVs, and need higher airspeeds to develop higher RPM. That’s why the fixed pitch crowd typically stay in ground effect till 120 knots or more before climbing out. Also cylinder cooling may be an issue if attempting to climb out at a low Vx speed. I think you’ll find climbing at 120 should be about right, and if the trees at the end of the runway start to get big, you can always pitch up to clear them.
As for glides, again, the type of propeller probably has a much bigger impact than differences in airplane construction.