What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Estimated cost to build

dhauck

I'm New Here
I know this topic can vary wildly, but I'm trying to determine what the cost to build a basic VFR RV4 aircraft. I'm thinking a fixed pitch, IO-320, basic round gauges, nothing fancy aircraft. Has anyone kept track of their build costs and be will to share?

Thanks.

My cost..25K

My -4 build was done on a very narrow budget, and not many have done it as cheap I'm sure. I have a lot of experience in the Aviation maintenance business and did everything myself except sew the seat covers. I built my engine from a run-out core, did all my paint work, not fancy, Steam gauges, fixed pitch wood O-320H2AD, 160 hp. Electric flaps, ail/elev trim. I bought all my kits new from VANs in the mid/late 90's. I have almost every receipt from the almost 15 yr. build, and I'm right at 25K. I couldn't likely do it again unless I bought older kits, as the price has gone up. My kits totaled 10.5K I beleive.

... I have almost every receipt from the almost 15 yr. build, and I'm right at 25K. ...

Impressive achievement! I spent more than that on one engine that I still have collecting dust in the corner. There are guys that spend more than that on their panel.

My cost in 2001...

Was about $65K

Airframe Kit: $10K
Engine: $25K (Factory new O-360 from Van's)
Prop: $ 5K (CS Hartzell)
Engine Acc. $ 5K (Fuel Injection, Prop Gov, Alternator, Oil Filter adapter, etc.)
Paint: $ 5K
Avionics $10K (Round gauges, GPS/COMM and Transponder)
Misc. $ 5K (Probably understated)

Total: $65K

It adds up fast...but it does take a long time to build a -4, so you will have plenty of time to save... :)

Good luck,

My cost cuts..