What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Diesel RV-7 & RV-9

kgood

Well Known Member
Many you know that I've been flying my Wilksch-powered Diesel RV9 for almost 6 years. I have 500 hours on it now, with very good results, and no issues. It's no secret that I'm serious about diesel / Jet A piston aviation.

The reason for my post is this: I'd like to do an informal poll. I'd like to know if there would be any takers for a Diesel/JetA FWF package as follows:

- Jet A1 burning engine from a proven producer with good customer service history
- Direct drive, Turbocharged, water cooled, delivering 170-180 hp with a relatively simple installation (no FADEC controller, etc.) that can be successfully achieved by most home builders, fuel burn around 6 gallons per hour, installed weight not including mount or cowls of around 350lb (160kg)
- Firewall forward package including engine mount, cooler mounts, cowls, etc. developed by a team experienced with the engine type and the RV aircraft.
- Constant speed prop, let's say an MT with Jihostroj governor/CSU

If this were available at an all-inclusive cost of $70-80K, with delivery in 2015, how many would be interested?

Just wondering...

Kurt Goodfellow
RV9 / WAM 120 diesel

$?

If this were available at an all-inclusive cost of $70-80K, with delivery in 2015, how many would be interested?l

ummm, so......like.......

no plane included, right?!? :rolleyes:

( I guess that's what the cheap diesel helps pay for.......)

I have driven a diesel car for the past 6-years and love it. Going to sell it now that I am not driving a lot.

I would like to see a diesel aircraft engine for our RVs but as long as Lycoming is a LOT cheaper, I will stick with Lycoming.