- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

Go Back   VAF Forums > Education > Flight Testing
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

View Poll Results: Did you fly the maiden flight of your build?
Yes 214 85.94%
No 35 14.06%
Voters: 249. You may not vote on this poll

Old 02-02-2021, 11:43 AM

Default How many of you flew your maiden flight?

Curious how many of you farm it out vs flying it yourself.

I'm very interested in doing it myself. But it's a pride thing, I'm not sure I can be objective about my capabilities.

I'm a good pilot, have instrument and glider ratings, about 700 hours total time, most of that in complex aircraft. But I just started flying 5 or 6 years ago. Flew 200+ hours last year. Flight time has dropped significantly since we started building, I already see that I'm going to have to take steps to make sure I fly enough to stay proficient.

I'm a good troubleshooter. I did a field overhaul of the O-360 in my Mooney 3 years ago, and did first flights after that, but that's not the same magnitude of risk. I'm pretty cool under pressure.

I will definitely be flying most of phase 1 myself, even if I don't do the maiden flight.

Any thoughts on this are appreciated.
Old 02-02-2021, 11:51 AM
Moderator, Asst. Line Boy

Heck yes!

https://vansairforce.net/community/s...d.php?t=125146

Sid "Scroll" Mayeux, Col, USAF (ret)
52F NW Regional/Aero Valley Airport, Roanoke TX (home of DR's Van Cave)
"KELLI GIRL" N260KM RV-7A tipper
Catch her on YouTube's "Because I Fly!" channel

Exemption waived.
Proud and grateful 2021 -=VAF=- Contributor

PS: I am not an influencer. I have no influence. Just ask my kids.
Old 02-02-2021, 11:59 AM