What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Thoughts on Building Assistance

acpilot

Well Known Member
Patron
I am getting closer to starting an RV build. I have gone back and forth on various models, building vs buying etc. and believe building is the best route for me. I am probably still a few years away from being totally ready to enjoy the RV lifestyle so I figure a build will fill that gap. Also ,I don't think hangar space near me is that plentiful so I will have to wait for that as well. I figure it will be a couple of years before I am at the stage that I would require a hangar so a build makes sense. I have basically settled on the RV-7A as I like the idea of a tricycle gear a hope that my kids may some day use it to learn to fly.

I have never built anything like an RV before and am quite intrigued with the various assisted building courses. I think it would be an excellent way to start my kit and learn valuable building skills. It will also be nice to use certain tools and decide which are the correct ones to purchase. I really like the idea of someone with experience taking me through the overwhelming experience of a crate of metal to a finished empennage in a week or so. I have seen 2 that are fairly close to me, Axsysair (WA) and Synergy Air (OR). If anyone has any advice on starting a build this way they would be very much appreciated.

Thanks

Impossible to answer for someone else, but if you think you need it, you probably do. And possibly, even if you don't. ;-)

Seriously, if you have a well developed skillset using tools and reading/following directions, and you have some local support like a good EAA chapter, you can do it without a paid assistance program. But those programs will almost certainly get you up to speed a lot quicker.