What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Help - Fuel showing left side inspection panel

dan.caine

I'm New Here
Morning all and Happy Thanksgiving. I'm a new 8A operator. Doing our first conditional check and noticed 100LL stain on the lower left side aft of the fuel tank at the access/inspection door. The inboard left inspection panel. Zero drips on the floor for the entire time I've had the airplane (1yr). A few instances of the line guys overfilling and fuel draining onto the leading edge of the wing (with a likely flow under to that access panel area). Before I pull the whole wing apart any other thoughts? Any thoughts or insights on troubleshooting before disassembling the wing would be appreciated. Pic attached.

Attachments

• IMG_4833.jpg
    IMG_4833.jpg
    130.9 KB · Views: 210
Pull the wing root cover and check for staining there as well. if none, I would expect a leak in the area where the rear wall is attached to the tank. I would get a camera up there and identify the source; Follow the blue staining to the source.

Larry

Morning Larry and thank you. No staining at the wing root (pulled for the conditional). I will try the camera option but this far the inside is clear. Best to you and yours. -Razin

Could be overflow draining but also could not:

I had a leak similar to that and thought it was because of fuel splash upon filling but it turned out that the Proseal on entire lower aft seam of the tank had not cured. See thumbnail

How far it goes depends upon the size of the leak. Try to get a borescope or camera in there and see if you can determine where the leak starts.

Attachments

• Uncured.png
    Uncured.png
    179.1 KB · Views: 353
Im working on my condition inspectionand had the same problem. The tanks aren't too bad to remove. You likely have a small leak. The dye will tell you where the leak is once you pull the tank.