What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-4 as a 200hr pilot?

Brian_G

As the title says, I'd like to get the collective wisdom of those who have gone before me here on an RV-4 as the next step up from where I'm at. It's what I've wanted since long before I even started flight training, it fits the mission, but is it a reasonable choice for someone with my experience level?

I'm a 200hr private pilot. I fly solely for fun and occasional travel. I got my license in a 172, then bought a 150 as something to just have fun with and get more experience in a plane I knew I could jump in with wet ink on my PPL and handle. For 2 years that's been a blast, but (1) I've always viewed the 150 as a stepping stone and (2) I'm ready for something more fun.

I've got a fresh tailwheel endorsement after 5 hrs in a Husky. When I called up AOPA's brokers to inquire about insurance requirements for an RV4 they quoted me 15 hrs dual, which seems reasonable to me and I'd assume doable with one of the transition guys in a 6 or 8 over a weekend or two.

I was talking to a mechanic/pilot who generally seems to know his stuff about wanting an RV4 soon, and he was adamant that an RV is too much airplane for a 200 hr pilot, so after giving it a little thought I figured it might be wise to ask the same question of those who really know these airplanes. Assuming I take the transition training seriously (which I will), am I missing something that would make this a bad idea for someone in my situation?

My alternative plan is probably just selling the 150 and buying a simple taildragger like a Champ to play with for another 100 hrs or so, but then I have the same type of anemic performance with only the added fun of a tailwheel...it'll still be a great time, but not quite the same fulfillment of a dream.