What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Rv 7 Advice needed

RV7a Newbie

I'm New Here
Folks Im on the Fringe of ordering my emmpennage kit for an Rv7

I was focused on the nosewheel version as Im flying a Samba XXL at the moment and its second nature to me to taxi / Land this configuration.

Could anybody give me a quick summary of the advantages or disadvantages of both kits with reference to building, mainteance cost etc

As always, thanks for your comments

David, Ireland

It's a never ending debate. Both are great. The tail wheel is dead easy to fly. This quote may turn the table for you, or not.
" I told my girlfriend I was a nose wheel pilot......she said we should both see other men" :D

Assuming you want insurance, call an insurance agent specializing in Experimental aircraft and Vans in particular, if you can find such a thing in Ireland. With little to no tail wheel experience, the first year is going to cost you more, in both money and dual instruction time, for the tailwheel. He can tell you how much more.

Ive Been told the Nosewheels dont take hard landings well, Is there an Issue here?

IF you mean touching down hard on the main gear, well, the same hardware is used for the main gear on both the 7a and the -7.

IF you mean touching down hard on the nose gear, well, you should never do that in any airplane.

Good advice

Bob,
Cheers Sound Advice on the Insurance/ extra training end of things.

What I was Told [By Someone who possibly who doesnt know much about this] was that in the nosewheel version that after an initial landing on the main gear that the front strut was prone to damage easily after a harder than normal touch down..
Any truth in this?

Bob,