What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Maybe build an RV10?

WebRuss

I'm New Here
Greetings all
I would like to hear from the collective wisdom of the group...

After a few beers with some buddies the other night, I got an idea in my head to maybe buy and build an RV10. I considered some options:

1. Find an RV10 kit someone purchased but did not finish and then complete it.
  2. Buy a brand new quick build.
  3. Buy a completed one.

Each one has it's merits, but I am unsure. I am a beginner builder, but I have access to other builders with much more experience willing to drink my beer and tell me what I am doing wrong.

Regards
Russ

How much time do you want to spend on it? Do you want to build for 2000 hours? Build for 500-1000 hours? Or fly tomorrow?

How much do you want this to be your plane from the first rivet to the last, versus being subject to the build quality (could be better, could be worse) of someone willing to part with it halfway through? When someone gives up and sells a partly finished kit, is it because they had a life change and need to part with an excellent airplane? Or because 400 hours into the build they realized that this is not for them, they stink at this, and they have left you 500 mangled rivets buried in places you will never find them? And how much do you want to have control over many of the customization options as you go, versus being subject to someone else's decisions about lights, piping, panel, etc?

How much do you care about the plane being built by you, and therefore subject to the FAA rules about builder-performed maintenance, versus a purchased plane legally requiring work to be performed by a paid mechanic?

Ponder those questions. The answers you seek are within.

You can work on a purchased plane all you like. But it takes an A&P to sign off the condition inspection annually. Just to clarify.