VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 12-10-2020, 07:32 AM
Iluke Iluke is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hope Valley, Rhode Island
Posts: 145
Default Flight Sim similar to Dynon?

Hi everyone,

I am wondering if anyone knows of a desktop flight simulator program with a glass panel display similar to the Dynon Skyview PFD? I am in the finishing stages of my -7 and plan to take transition training, but I have zero glass cockpit time and could benefit from some desktop practice first.

I know there is no Dynon-specific simulator program available, but if anyone has experience with one of the commercial flight sim programs that is similar to the Dynon display, I'd appreciate a heads up.

thanks,
Ivan
__________________
Ivan Luke
Hope Valley, RI
RV-7 SB
Almost ready to move to the airport!
2021 dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2020, 12:35 PM
RONSIM's Avatar
RONSIM RONSIM is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Largo, FL
Posts: 1,053
Default I use the Garmin 500/600 simulator

using the G650 or 750 with it. It is a free download from Garmin and has the screens, navigator and an autopilot (sort of). While it is not "apples to apples", it is close enough to my AFS 5600T/G650/TT Vizion system that it is very useful. Also, I have it on my touch-screen HP laptop, 17", so everything is pretty realistic.

Ron
__________________
RV-10 Co-built, maintained, flown (sold)
RV-8A Maintained and flown (Sold)
RV-6A Bought and Flying (N177RV), upgrades $$$
IO360, 180HP/CS, AFS 5600T, D10A, G650, G430, G327, ADS-B, VIZ385 AP
Very Happy Contributor
Comm, SMEL, CFII, A&P
Based at KCLW (Clearwater, FL)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2020, 02:29 PM
jcarne's Avatar
jcarne jcarne is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Worland, Wyoming
Posts: 1,586
Default

While certainly not a Dynon screen any simulator with a G1000 will give you a good idea of what it's like to fly behind glass. I use the C172 in MSFS2020 with the G1000 screens. Glass takes a little bit of getting used to but it's not too bad. I really like the way information is presented except for airspeed. I think an analog airspeed indicator is easier to read on the fly. Personal opinion though.
__________________
Jereme Carne
PPL
RV-7A Flying as of 03/2021
Exempt but gladly paying!

Last edited by jcarne : 12-10-2020 at 02:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2020, 06:50 AM
Paul 5r4 Paul 5r4 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Foley, Al
Posts: 604
Default

jcarne.... I could not agree more. I never look at my glass ASI and rarely the altimeter. (I have steam back up ASI and altimeter). My eyes ALWAYS go to analog. I think the reason is because with analog you don't need the number the position of the needle on the face of the gauge tells you what you need to know at a glance.
__________________
Paul Gray
Foley, Alabama
N729PG..... 450+ hrs
RV 7A, Lycoming 0 320 D1A, Sensenich FP propeller
pilotforfun2001@yahoo.com
VAF supporter $$$
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2020, 07:02 AM
1001001's Avatar
1001001 1001001 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Just Minutes from KBVI!
Posts: 1,128
Default

There is an Eclipse jet simulator plugin for X-Plane that includes a glass panel supposedly modeled after the Dynon Skyview system. I am not sure how accurate it is. Also not sure if the panel components could be adapted to another simulated airplane.

https://aerobask.com/eclipse550.php
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-2020, 01:23 AM
KRviator's Avatar
KRviator KRviator is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sydney, Aust.
Posts: 823
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1001001 View Post
There is an Eclipse jet simulator plugin for X-Plane that includes a glass panel supposedly modeled after the Dynon Skyview system.
That looks quite good! They should sell the EFIS add-on separately!
__________________
Once you have tasted flight you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards, for there you have been and there you will long to return - Leonardo DaVinci

My Flickr gallery: http://www.flickr.com/photos/35521362@N06/

RV-9A - Finished on 10th February 2016 after 4 years, 9 months and 19 days! The 1020th RV-9 flying.

First flight 26th March 2016. Essential specs 145KTAS @ 2400RPM, 8000', 24.2LPH, Initial RoC 1800FPM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-13-2020, 10:52 AM
rockwoodrv9 rockwoodrv9 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Meridian ID, Aspen CO, Okemos MI
Posts: 2,715
Default

A bit off topic, but any recommendation for a laptop or system for the new FS? I downloaded all 150gb and it will not play on my nearly new Dell XPS 16gb system. I thought about just getting an x box but if I can get it to work on a laptop, that would be my preference.

Thanks
__________________
rockwoodrv9a
Williamston MI
O-320 D2A
Flying N376E
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-13-2020, 12:40 PM
RONSIM's Avatar
RONSIM RONSIM is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Largo, FL
Posts: 1,053
Default My new laptop would not even come close

to working with MS Flight Sim --- it meets "minimum" requirements but hangs up constantly.

Ron
__________________
RV-10 Co-built, maintained, flown (sold)
RV-8A Maintained and flown (Sold)
RV-6A Bought and Flying (N177RV), upgrades $$$
IO360, 180HP/CS, AFS 5600T, D10A, G650, G430, G327, ADS-B, VIZ385 AP
Very Happy Contributor
Comm, SMEL, CFII, A&P
Based at KCLW (Clearwater, FL)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-13-2020, 01:23 PM
rockwoodrv9 rockwoodrv9 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Meridian ID, Aspen CO, Okemos MI
Posts: 2,715
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RONSIM View Post
to working with MS Flight Sim --- it meets "minimum" requirements but hangs up constantly.

Ron
That is what mine does - and it exceeds what they say is min. Im ok buying a system strictly for FS - including 2 or 3 monitors for a full experience. Maybe a desktop stand alone system is the way to go. It would be nice to be able to take it when I travel but may not be possible.
__________________
rockwoodrv9a
Williamston MI
O-320 D2A
Flying N376E
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-13-2020, 03:36 PM
dreed dreed is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Camas, WA
Posts: 458
Default

I think the graphics cards are the big hangup for laptops (plus traveling with controls would be tough).

I built a machine for it, using a 2070 card till I can get my hands on a 3080 and still waiting for the alpha yoke (still need a good joystick too).

Unless something has changed recently it still only supports a single monitor, but I've been using Track IR and I really like it
__________________
Dan Reed
Camas, WA
RV-7A - N167DR (reserved)
Inspection coming
2018/19/20 VAF dues paid
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:31 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.