VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > Glass Cockpit
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 08-07-2015, 08:23 PM
maus92 maus92 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Annapolis MD
Posts: 457
Default

So, do we have any guidance on installation of the new positioning source? My RV-8A is currently in pieces, so it's convenient for me atm to install the (expensive) antenna either under the cowl, or on the deck just aft of the rear seat without much trouble. How long should the RG400 conductor be? I can make it 3ft, but I've seen "recommended" lengths much longer...
__________________
CA
2000 RV-8A | O-360, SDS CPI, FP, G3X Touch, VP-X, EarthX | Eastern Shore | KESN
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 08-07-2015, 08:26 PM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 5,840
Default

The new Rev. U install manual on the web covers GMC 307, GPS 20A, and GSU 25B
__________________
Walt Aronow, DFW, TX (52F)

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1700+ hrs, New Titan IO-370, Bendix Mags
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 08-07-2015, 08:39 PM
maus92 maus92 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Annapolis MD
Posts: 457
Default

"U"? I'm glad I don't print out every new version. I'm still working off a hardcopy two or three versions ago.
__________________
CA
2000 RV-8A | O-360, SDS CPI, FP, G3X Touch, VP-X, EarthX | Eastern Shore | KESN

Last edited by maus92 : 08-08-2015 at 09:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 08-08-2015, 08:12 AM
BillFear BillFear is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sherrills Ford, NC (Lake norman area)
Posts: 432
Default Transponder upgrade still needed?

I have a standard 330 transponder, will the new GPS20a work with this or do I still need to upgrade it to ES. Also will the 20A provide ADSB in to my 696 or is the 39 still required.

Also any chance this unit can connect to the GRT HX efis as an external GPS?

Thanks!
__________________
Bill Fearheiley
Lake Norman, NC (14A)
RV7a N705RP (no longer own)
Contribution in for 2017, money well spent
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 08-08-2015, 08:47 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,952
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillFear View Post
I have a standard 330 transponder, will the new GPS20a work with this or do I still need to upgrade it to ES. Also will the 20A provide ADSB in to my 696 or is the 39 still required.

Also any chance this unit can connect to the GRT HX efis as an external GPS?

Thanks!
Hello Bill,

You would need to upgrade your GTX 330 to a GTX 330ES before connecting it to a GPS 20A would provide ADS-B Out.

The GPS 20A is a WAAS/GPS position source, but not an ADS-B receiver, so you will still need the GDL 39 to provide dual frequency ADS-B traffic and weather to your 696.

Not only does the GPS 20A provide ADS-B+ position data to the Mode S transponder, but it also provides a second RS-232 port that provides NMEA data at 9600 baud, 1 start bit, 1 stop bit, 8 data bits, and no parity and transmits GPRMC, GPGGA, GPGSA, GPGSV, GPVTG, and PGRMT sentences for use by other devices. Not sure if your EFIS will use this data, but it might.

See page 22-41 of the Rev. U G3X Installation Manual for a description of this RS-232 connection.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 08-08-2015, 08:50 AM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 7,509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillFear View Post
I have a standard 330 transponder, will the new GPS20a work with this or do I still need to upgrade it to ES. Also will the 20A provide ADSB in to my 696 or is the 39 still required.

Also any chance this unit can connect to the GRT HX efis as an external GPS?

Thanks!
This GPS does nothing for providing your 330 xponder with the ES functionality. You will still need that upgrade if you want to use the 330.

This is a GPS not an ADS-B IN receiver. You will still need a receiver and I highly recommend the dual band GDL39 unit. Works like a charm with the 696!

Garmin has stated that this GPS could be used with other systems as it will support their ADS-B+ format which has already been at least partially deciphered by a few and hopefully Garmin will publish that protocol eventually and it also outputs NMEA data as well.

EDIT: Looks like Steve beat me to it. So there you have the official answer!
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Project Sold
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook

Last edited by Brantel : 08-08-2015 at 08:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 08-08-2015, 08:51 AM
BillFear BillFear is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sherrills Ford, NC (Lake norman area)
Posts: 432
Default Thanks steve

I currently have my 696 feeding gps data to GRT as a backup so I assume this stream would be useable.
__________________
Bill Fearheiley
Lake Norman, NC (14A)
RV7a N705RP (no longer own)
Contribution in for 2017, money well spent
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 08-08-2015, 09:00 AM
maus92 maus92 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Annapolis MD
Posts: 457
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillFear View Post
I currently have my 696 feeding gps data to GRT as a backup so I assume this stream would be useable.
If it were me, I'd hardwire the GPS-20A to the GRT and use the 696 as a backup GPS source if an extra RS-232 was available. But I'm weird and enjoy changing things around and rewiring....
__________________
CA
2000 RV-8A | O-360, SDS CPI, FP, G3X Touch, VP-X, EarthX | Eastern Shore | KESN
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 08-08-2015, 09:05 AM
BillFear BillFear is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sherrills Ford, NC (Lake norman area)
Posts: 432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maus92 View Post
If it were me, I'd hardwire the GPS-20A to the GRT and use the 696 as a backup GPS source if an extra RS-232 was available. But I'm weird and enjoy changing things around and rewiring....
Forgot to mention i have 300xl connected to grt as primary gps, 696 is number 2. I would keep that as i can feed a flight plan to AP from either GPS.

Thanks all for great answers!
__________________
Bill Fearheiley
Lake Norman, NC (14A)
RV7a N705RP (no longer own)
Contribution in for 2017, money well spent
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 08-08-2015, 03:00 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,952
Post GPS 20A Antenna Cable Length

Quote:
Originally Posted by maus92 View Post
So, do we have any guidance on installation of the new positioning source? My RV-8A is currently in pieces, so it's convenient for me atm to install the (expensive) antenna either under the cowl, or on the deck just aft of the rear seat without much trouble. How long should the RG400 conductor be? I can make it 3ft, but I've seen "recommended" lengths much longer...
Hello Charley,

Good question on the RG-400 length requirements. As hard as we try to catch everything, it seems we left that guidance out of the GPS 20A installation guidance in the Rev. U manual.

The GPS 20A has the same antenna installation requirements as the GTN 6XX/7XX as explained below.

Cable loss from the GPS/SBAS antenna should be between 1.5 dB and 6.5 dB in order to maintain proper rejection to interference signals.

Coaxial connectors and adapters, such as TNC to BNC, add additional loss to the cable and should be considered when computing the cable loss. A typical loss of 0.2 dB can be used for each connection.

For RG-142B or RG-400, 1.5 dB equates to a length of approximately 6.5 feet of cable with a connector on each end.

For installations where you don't need 6.5 ft of cable, the cable may be coiled, taking into account the minimum bend radius of the cable.

Let us know if you have additional questions.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.

Last edited by g3xpert : 08-08-2015 at 03:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.