VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > Glass Cockpit
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-24-2021, 06:43 AM
RV10Pilot RV10Pilot is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Medford, NJ USA
Posts: 428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RV-4 View Post
''Yes it does pin 27''

Does this apply to the Skyview Classic too??

Thanks

Bruno
From the Dynon SE, Classic, Touch, & HDX Installation Manual
External GO AROUND Button is not supported in SkyView SE. If you intend to install and use SkyView SE, do not purchase or install an External GO AROUND Button.

From that, Classic, Touch & HDX can have the Go Around functionality. SE cannot.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-24-2021, 12:21 PM
bruceh's Avatar
bruceh bruceh is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ramona, CA
Posts: 2,473
Default

Are the TOGA button functions compatible between Skyview and a Garmin GPS?

I see that the Garmin GPS 175 pin 36 has a remote Go Around button.
If both Skyview and Garmin units are connected to the same Go Around button, what is the overall sequence?

The Garmin button will activate the missed approach procedure.

The Dynon Skyview will do the following:

"Go-around mode changes the AP lateral mode to TRK mode with the approach inbound course as the target. Pitch mode is switched to either IAS or VS mode (dependent on setup) with the default climb VS or IAS selected. An “ADD POWER” annunciation is also provided on the PFD page."

Just wondering if the switch to TRK mode is going to be a problem, since wouldn't the Garmin be driving the HSI mode to the MAP?
__________________
Bruce Hill
RV-9A N5771H flown over 800 hours!
http://www.overthehills.com/RV-9A-Project
APRS Tracking for KJ6YRP and Flying Over the Hills Blog
2021 VAF donator
EAA Tech Counselor, Pre Buys, Build assistance - canopy/tanks/fiberglass/electrical/repairs
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-24-2021, 03:05 PM
RicoB's Avatar
RicoB RicoB is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 339
Default

Thats a great question. I have the IFD 440. If it’s worth I would add the go around pin on the same button.
__________________
Rico Burgos
2018- RV9a at KWHP
1959- C-150 at KMOD
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm3018529
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-24-2021, 03:48 PM
Flying Canuck Flying Canuck is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceh View Post
"Go-around mode changes the AP lateral mode to TRK mode with the approach inbound course as the target. Pitch mode is switched to either IAS or VS mode (dependent on setup) with the default climb VS or IAS selected. An “ADD POWER” annunciation is also provided on the PFD page."

Just wondering if the switch to TRK mode is going to be a problem, since wouldn't the Garmin be driving the HSI mode to the MAP?
I do wish this wasn't included in the Go Around behavior. It works as described, when you press the button, the HDG/TRK bug will sync to the final approach coarse and the autopilot roll mode changes to TRK. Since typically you reach MDA prior to the MAP (at least in all of the approaches I've done), it does seem counter-intuitive to change to TRK mode. In order to have the autopilot fly the missed approach procedure laterally, you need to re-engage NAV mode.

I'm still in training for my Instrument Rating, the Go Around function does simplify the workload at that point in time. Ideally it allows me to concentrate on starting the missed approach climb by only having to add power and, once in a climb, set my climb airspeed and retract flaps. Once I cross the MAP, I need to activate the missed approach on the GPS 175 and I have to remember to re-engage autopilot NAV mode. I'd love to not have to do that.

Having the Go Around button also trigger the GPS 175 to activate the missed approach would be one less thing to deal with. I see no reason it wouldn't work, both system are looking for a pull to ground as the switch signal. I might have to try this next time I feel like pulling wires.
__________________
Claude Pitre
RV-9A #91081, C-GCPT
Dynon SkyView HDX, IO-320 and WW 200RV C/S. Flying as of August 6, 2018

Added GPS 175 and authorized for IFR April 1, 2021

Interactive map of all of my flights here
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-24-2021, 09:46 PM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 7,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flying Canuck View Post
Once I cross the MAP, I need to activate the missed approach on the GPS 175 and I have to remember to re-engage autopilot NAV mode. I'd love to not have to do that.

Having the Go Around button also trigger the GPS 175 to activate the missed approach would be one less thing to deal with. I see no reason it wouldn't work, both system are looking for a pull to ground as the switch signal. I might have to try this next time I feel like pulling wires.
Consider an approach like the RNAV (GPS) 26 KTCY (Tracy, CA). The missed approach procedure calls for a right 180 back to the IAF. Now, most (all?) gps units don’t know your turn radius, so if you immediately (while still on the final approach course) activate the gps missed approach procedure it will try to fly a magenta line from your present position back out to the IAF. Most autopilots will turn the ‘shortest way’, so if your heading happens to be just a few degrees to the left, the autopilot will turn the plane left instead of right, back to the IAF. So when you push the missed approach button and add power, you should then rotate the heading bug (or whatever commands your autopilot) to start a right turn. When you’re sure you’ve got less than 180 deg to go, set the outbound heading with the bug. As you approach the outbound heading, hit unsuspend on the gps, change to gps mode on the autopilot, and you’re all set.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-25-2021, 07:16 AM
RicoB's Avatar
RicoB RicoB is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 339
Default

For the guys that are currently using go around buttons, do you guys have the go around pin from the skyview and the pin from the navigator (in my case IFD 440) wire together that way activates on the on both systems? Or it’s not necessary for the IFD440?
__________________
Rico Burgos
2018- RV9a at KWHP
1959- C-150 at KMOD
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm3018529
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-26-2021, 08:05 AM
RicoB's Avatar
RicoB RicoB is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 339
Default

So no one is using “go around “ button on the skyview and o the gps?
__________________
Rico Burgos
2018- RV9a at KWHP
1959- C-150 at KMOD
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm3018529
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-26-2021, 10:16 AM
RV10Pilot RV10Pilot is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Medford, NJ USA
Posts: 428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RicoB View Post
So no one is using “go around “ button on the skyview and o the gps?
I have neither with a Dynon HDX and Avidyne IFD 440, and I don't see the real value. I am just getting familiar with all the functionality and integration of the Avidyne, Dynon, and the autopilot and my opinion may change, but these are my thoughts.

The Avidyne will auto sequence to the missed approach at the MAP if you have that functionality set. Otherwise there is a soft key to enable the missed.

On an approach coupled with the autopilot, I want the IFD to always control lateral guidance on the approach and on the missed. I want the IFD to control the vertical guidance on the approach. If I get to the MAP I would press the up button on the AP and apply power, flaps up. The IFD with auto sequence to the missed approach procedure. The AP and IFD will control the lateral guidance and the AP will control the 500 ft/min climb, I could then adjust the climb rate by pressing the up/down button. At some point I would adjust the altitude bug to set where I want to stop the climb.

If I wanted to go missed prior to the MAP, I have the option to go the altitude hold (press alt) which will maintain the current altitude, or the up button to start a climb. The IFD and AP will maintain lateral guidance to the MAP and then auto sequence to the hold procedure.

IMHO, I do not the autopilot to go into track mode on the missed. I want it to stay in Nav mode. So it is just a matter of pressing the Alt or Up button on the AP panel. A remote IFD missed button may be of value, but there is a soft key on the IFD that is easy enough to get to, but the IFD will auto sequence minimizing its value.

I am by no means an expert and I am still working through how my systems all work together. It may be far easier to just disconnect the AP, fly by hand, stay in control of what's happening and then when appropriate reconnect the AP.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-26-2021, 10:33 AM
airguy's Avatar
airguy airguy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Garden City, Tx
Posts: 5,443
Default

I'm flying Dynon HDX and Avidyne IFD440, and for a missed approach I simply hit the VS "up" button on the AP panel, which immediately triggers the go-around mode. The AP will transition to my default climb rate and TRK mode on runway heading. I monitor the transition to climb as I add power, then when I'm comfortably climbing, and past the MAP, I hit NAV on the AP panel to follow the published missed procedure being fed from the IFD440.

Push a button, feed power, push another button, no drama. I don't see what's so hard about this.
__________________
Greg Niehues - SEL, IFR, Repairman Cert.
Garden City, TX VAF 2021 dues paid
N16GN flying 800 hrs and counting; IO360, SDS, WWRV200, Dynon HDX, IFD440
Built an off-plan RV9A with too much fuel and too much HP. Should drop dead any minute now.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-26-2021, 12:09 PM
Flying Canuck Flying Canuck is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airguy View Post
Push a button, feed power, push another button, no drama. I don't see what's so hard about this.
The Go Around function is engaged with the external go around button OR the NOSE UP on the autopilot control panel. So the only thing the external button does (if installed in an appropriate location) is reduce hand movement. I like the ability to combine the button press with the advancing of the throttle. But in reality that is the only benefit to the external button.
__________________
Claude Pitre
RV-9A #91081, C-GCPT
Dynon SkyView HDX, IO-320 and WW 200RV C/S. Flying as of August 6, 2018

Added GPS 175 and authorized for IFR April 1, 2021

Interactive map of all of my flights here
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:03 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.