What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-7 for a First Plane?

jessebiltz

I'm New Here
Hey all. I'm new to this thread, new to flying, and new to RVs. I'm in the very very very beginning stages of training for my license, but figured out I get somewhat of a "coupon" on a plane if I buy one to train with.

After looking at lots of options, I've settled on the RV line. More specifically, on the RV-7 or 7A. I want a plane I won't get bored with right away, but also something I can grow into. I'm getting mixed reviews on this being my first plane and the one I train in initially.

So, I'd love some feedback. Is this too much plane for a novice? Is it just right for someone who wants to grow into a plane. Couple of factors that might come into play: It's the 360 engine, it has a CS prop, and it's a tail-dragger.

I'm 40, ride motorcycles, love flying, fairly mechanically inclined, and don't love the idea of owning a 172 or Piper.

Thoughts?

Hey all. I'm new to this thread, new to flying, and new to RVs. I'm in the very very very beginning stages of training for my license, but figured out I get somewhat of a "coupon" on a plane if I buy one to train with.

After looking at lots of options, I've settled on the RV line. More specifically, on the RV-7 or 7A. I want a plane I won't get bored with right away, but also something I can grow into. I'm getting mixed reviews on this being my first plane and the one I train in initially.

So, I'd love some feedback. Is this too much plane for a novice? Is it just right for someone who wants to grow into a plane. Couple of factors that might come into play: It's the 360 engine, it has a CS prop, and it's a tail-dragger.

I'm 40, ride motorcycles, love flying, fairly mechanically inclined, and don't love the idea of owning a 172 or Piper.

Thoughts?