What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RPM Drop/Low CHT & EGT

GrinchF16

Well Known Member
RV7A
O360
1xMag 1xElectronic Ignition
Archaic GRT EIS

Beautiful day to fly. Sitting at EOR, do standard run up and mag check. When I switch to Mag, RPM drops off very rapidly. Back to Both or Electronic Ignition, runs fine. As I cycle through EIS, I see that EGT/CHT numbers on #1 are both significantly below other cylinders regardless of Mag/Electronic Ignition selection.

One A&P says bad Mag, one says check plugs and wires. I understand the logic of both of those but how do you explain away the temps? Seems to me temps indicate not much burning going on yet engine seems fine with Electronic Ignition selected.

Mea culpa - I’m a decent pilot, the mechanics side is new to me.

Last edited:
Ironically I had a very similar experience 3 months after owning my RV. Ran perfect up until one mag check.

Ran great on the P-Mag and shuttered on the Bendix. CHT/EGTs were not mapping like they should.

Here is what I did/found. Working from the easiest / least expensive fix first.

*Visual inspection > Found the P-Mag lead to Cylinder 1 (bottom) resting on the plug. Visible arching on the plug tip which led me to believe this had been that way before I pulled the cowl.

*Tested the Left / Right path from the key switch > Finding the P-Mag with a loose wire led me to believe that my L/R may be backwards and I should be looking at a P-Mag fault not the Bendix. Wiring was confirmed correct. The plane was stuttering running on the Bendix.

*Visual inspection of the plugs > Looked normal for 20 hours post cleaning. Minor footballing on the aviation plugs told me they had some miles on them. Gaps were set the same on both the aviation and auto plugs.

*Visual test of the spark from the Bendix as the prop was manually rotated. Strong spark on all 4 leads. (300 hrs since rebuild).