What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Dealing with old antenna holes

bill.hutchison

Well Known Member
Rude awakening time.

My 6A had an old Levil Beacon ADS-B Out system; apparently one of the few that worked reliably - seriously, Levil was shocked that it worked fine when I called them and asked for a manual.

Anyway - it used a Rami 180 antenna on the turtledeck for the GPS source, and there was a belly-mounted antenna for the OUT.

The new stuff won't use the same holes - footprint is different for the turtledeck antenna, and the belly antenna just won't be used.

What's the best way to deal with it? Fab up some aluminum and just cover the holes up? Do it from the inside and then glass it? Just leave the old antennas in place?

I figure there are lots of ways to deal with it but I'm new to this and wondering how to cover/plug and get a nice-looking finish. I dislike the idea of leaving the old antennas because....well...just because. I'd like to delete if I can.

Thanks in advance.

A dime-dollar patch is a common way to fix something like this. It's a common repair for holes in sheet metal panels that has been around since God was a kid and a version of it is in the 43.13.

Basically, it's an internal doubler without any antenna holes in it then a small plug the same shape and thickness as the hole you want to fill riveted to the doubler. You can then fill and paint to match if you want, but there are millions of airplanes flying around with dime-dollar patches perfectly visible and the smallish ones tend to blend right in once they're painted to match the base color.

It gets it's name from the idea of a sliver dollar with a dime stacked on top.

Last edited:
A dime-dollar patch is a common way to fix something like this. It's a common repair for holes in sheet metal panels that has been around since God was a kid and a version of it is in the 43.13.