What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Interview with Van’s Rian and Greg!

Question

At approximately 12:35 in the interview, Rian mentioned something about "making sure the rivet holes meet specification..."

He probably was clear about this, but if so I missed it. Are you disassembling some of the QB kits and then reassembling them after inspection/remediation?

I think Rian described a “high end” tubing bender. See https://youtu.be/YHhwwlx0a_s?t=437. I don’t think a high end tubing bender would be needed to make fuel lines, but I’m no expert.

I've got a buddy who has a CNC tubing bender. He uses it to scan/trace existing lines and make new ones. He got (and lost) the contract to remake all of the lines on the WB-57F they resurrected from Davis Monthan a few years ago.

Knowing how hot the bush plane segment is, I suspect that one of the new designs will be a high wing, but I doubt it will be rag and tube as that's not what typical RV builders are after. I suspect it will be more like the Rans S-21 outbound where the forward part of the fuse with the engine and wing attach points will be 4130 tube, but then the back part of the fuse more standard RV construction and mated to it.

I think the bigger question is what gear, flap, and wing setup are they going to use.

Cabane-V gear is stronger, but draggy. Maule or Bearhawk gear is less draggy, but not as strong. Spring gear is faster, but it can be heavy, and if you aren't done flying or have all of the AOA out of the wing when it touches, you are going to do a double humper landing.

The flaps are interesting with the bearhawk using a standard barn door flap, cessna using a semi-fowler flap, and the husky and maule using a lower hinge point. I'd love to see a full segmented flap like the performance stol flaps.