What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-4 verses RV-8 ???

Hi, guys. A newbie here trying to decide on which plane to build. I recently got to sit, but not fly in, a flying RV8(not kit form). I am 6ft 1in and 240 lbs. I must say it was quite confortable and felt like i was in a fighter plane. My wife, 125 lbs had plenty of room in the back. My question is, is the RV4 pretty much the same as the 8?? I've looked at the specs on Vans site and can't really see a ton of difference in the two as far as interior goes. Does anybody here have experience riding in the two so as to give me hands on comparison. I've seen more than one RV4 projects that builders are willing to part with which I can afford more so than an RV8 kit. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Tom in Ga.

RV-4 verses RV-8 ????

Hi, guys. A newbie here trying to decide on which plane to build. I recently got to sit, but not fly in, a flying RV8(not kit form). I am 6ft 1in and 240 lbs. I must say it was quite confortable and felt like i was in a fighter plane. My wife, 125 lbs had plenty of room in the back. My question is, is the RV4 pretty much the same as the 8?? I've looked at the specs on Vans site and can't really see a ton of difference in the two as far as interior goes. Does anybody here have experience riding in the two so as to give me hands on comparison. I've seen more than one RV4 projects that builders are willing to part with which I can afford more so than an RV8 kit. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Tom in Ga.

I think the interior dimension info on Van's web site might be a bit misleading. The RV-4 is a fair bit narrower than the RV-8, as evidenced by the dimensions on Ron Wanttaja's web page. The best bet is to find an RV-4 to sit in. There are quite a few around, so there is a good chance there is one in your area.