VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #21  
Old 01-14-2021, 07:31 PM
jliltd jliltd is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Rancho San Lorenzo
Posts: 1,008
Default

Wow. I hope the first shop wasn't a Garmin dealer. That's avionics data bus 101 to wire serial signal wires per the manual.
__________________
RV-8
(a few more airplanes too)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-17-2021, 11:09 AM
delgadojay@gmail.com delgadojay@gmail.com is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Colorado
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jliltd View Post
Wow. I hope the first shop wasn't a Garmin dealer. That's avionics data bus 101 to wire serial signal wires per the manual.
It most definitely was! In addition they said they mimicked the RS232 feed into the GTX and that the GTX was bad.

***Update- I wired back in the harness and it still didn't work. Called the 2nd shop and they said they found a G5 to test the GTX with and to bring it back. I then pulled my G5 (just in case) and took everything back. They hooked it to the good G5 and it "worked"!! Yes.... Finally know the issue.

We will see if mine is in warranty and ship it back to be fixed Monday. Can't wait! Blue skies and no transponder sucks! I'm under a Bravo so need the Mode C.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-27-2021, 05:29 PM
Barry_Barry Barry_Barry is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UNION
Posts: 19
Default G5 Software & Changes

Guys,

Can I throw in a related question but not directly related?
It seams that Garmin has new Software for the G5's that will allow direct connection between a HandHeld GPS, in this case a Garmin 295. Which runs NMEA 0183 at 4800 Baud. The old G5 software would not connect with NMEA and it also wanted 9600 Baud.
Am I correct on these statements?
Thanks gang, AND if I am in the wrong forum would you post the correct one?

Barry
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-27-2021, 06:19 PM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 7,349
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry_Barry View Post
Guys,

Can I throw in a related question but not directly related?
It seams that Garmin has new Software for the G5's that will allow direct connection between a HandHeld GPS, in this case a Garmin 295. Which runs NMEA 0183 at 4800 Baud. The old G5 software would not connect with NMEA and it also wanted 9600 Baud.
Am I correct on these statements?
Thanks gang, AND if I am in the wrong forum would you post the correct one?

Barry
Try contacting G3xpert, who you can find on this forum (search). Iím sure he can answer your question.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:38 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.