What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Lightspeed Zulu 2 Headset

olyolson

Well Known Member
Friend
Been thinking about upgrading from my older David Clark ANR to the new Zulu. Tried it out in the local airport pilot shop and was fairly impressed. My DC set still isn't the quietest thing on takeoff in my RV-4. Does the Zulu 2 really blank out as much noise as it advertises? Any thoughts? How well does the bluetooth work with MP3 player/cellphone.

I thought my Zulu I was really good, but my Zulu 2 is noticeably quieter. The Bluetooth feature works very well with my iPhone; Haven't tried it with an mp3 player.

Jim Berry
RV-10

Zulu 1 is Fantastic

I've been flying with a Zulu 1 in my RV-4 now for about three years and 400 hours. And if you try to take it from me, you'll have a fight on your hands.

Seriously, It's the finest headset I've ever flown with. And the Bluetooth works great with my iPad.

I'm planning to buy a Zulu 2 if my 1 ever quits, but it doesn't look like that'll happen anytime soon.

-Matt
402BD

Zulu 2 is about to be superceded by the new Zulu PFX. (Said to be available after 30 Sept).
There is usually a trade up program for owners of superceded headset (eg Zulu 2) after a few months, so price of Zulu 2 may come down soon.
John

I started flying my RV with an older Lightspeed headset (15XLR or somesuch). In C172s I had always been happy with them. Started flying my RV and, as I had been warned, RVs are noisy; I found the noise distracting. I upgraded to a new Zulu 2 and it changed the auditory flying experience completely. Liked 'em so much, bought a second set for the Spousal Unit. :)

Zulu 2s are the best thing I've found for quieting down a RV9 cockpit. Wish I was able to buy the second pair for the co pilot! Haven't used the bluetooth much except occasionally on the ramp. Seems to work fine.