What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

P-MAG with EI commander weird advance problem on startup

kaa

Well Known Member
Hi All,

I've been running a dual P-MAG setup for a few years on my Lycoming O-360 and it has developed a peculiar problem lately. Normally when I start the engine both ignitions show the advance of 19.6 at 1000 RPM (I have an EI Commander installed). However since a few months ago sometimes the left ignition goes to 26.6 after startup. I can hear that in the engine noise, EI commander shows a timing divergence warning, plus I can confirm that the timing is different by turning off one ignition at a time, so I'm pretty sure this is not an indication problem. When this happens I shut down the engine, reboot the ignitions and restart and the problem goes away. Nothing ever happens in flight or at any time after the startup. Everything else works as intended.

My ignition setup is as follows:
SW rev: 36
RPM max : 3072
ADV max: 29.4
ADV shf: -5.6
STR dly: 0

I think this started happening after my panel upgrade, but I haven't changed the schematic of how EI commander is hooked up, just replaced some wiring.

I asked Brad at E-MAG Air but he had never seen this before.

Any ideas? Thanks.

This is probably a problem with one of the pmags. I guess Brad suggested swapping them to see what happens. Might also check in with Bill Repucci to see if he's seen this. As another data point, I have mine set up like this:

RPM max:2816
ADV max: 33.6
ADV shf: -1.4

Side topic - I'd really love to get logging of the pmag data into my efis. I only glance at my ei commander from time to time, and the information there is very interesting. It would be great to look at it in the wider context of map, rpm, egt, cht, and ff.