VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 04-02-2015, 08:02 AM
RKellogg RKellogg is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Newark, IL
Posts: 287
Arrow Better quality switch breakers ?

Is there a better brand of switch breaker out there? Yesterday at a remote airport 700 miles from home the FLAPS switch breaker broke. The 'bakelite' just cracked apart apparently, no scorched / arc'd / baked evidence. In this application, the breaker gets one cycle per flight. Plane has just 100 hours (of predominately cross-country flights). Was able to port the flaps over to the 5A fuel pump breaker to get home. But it might have been more unpleasant if it had failed in the air, rather than on the ramp. - Roger
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-02-2015, 08:36 AM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 5,840
Default

http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalo...?clickkey=4055

__________________
Walt Aronow, DFW, TX (52F)

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1700+ hrs, New Titan IO-370, Bendix Mags
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2015, 08:37 AM
Robert Anglin Robert Anglin is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: houston, texas
Posts: 900
Default Queston

It would help if we knew what brand you are using now. Tyco, Klixon?
I use the Tyco W31's a lot as the Klixon 7271-1 are a lot more money, but in some cases like flaps, fuel pump or radios-master I can see it justified. I must tell you though we have had little problems with the Tyco W31 breakers. They have worked well for long times. You can also get one of the push-pull breakers and substitute it for a toggle type if you wish, both Klixon and Tyco are good to go for them. There are other All-Electronic breakers out there today, but we have had little field use with them and don't know how they are going to hold up over time. I have a 15 amp. Tyco on both my flaps and IO-360 fuel pump, may be a 20 on that one, but if any thing, it is a good idea to carry a spare 10 and a 20 in your tools kit in baggage.
This may not do much to help, but I hope it does. Yours as always. R.E.A. III #80888
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2015, 09:15 AM
RKellogg RKellogg is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Newark, IL
Posts: 287
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Anglin View Post
It would help if we knew what brand you are using now. Tyco, ... ?
#80888
Yes.... sorry. I redacted that sentence to avoid insulting any particular brand. My lawyer said...
Thanks for the advice!
- Roger
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2015, 11:34 AM
RVDan RVDan is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 873
Default

Google "Tyco WX31 Bonaza" and you will see that this series of switch/breaker has had a history of failures in the Bonanzas and other aircraft. Tyco revised the design of certain units based on a first round of failures that the FAA issued an AD on. Apparently the new version just fails in different ways. In both cases had fire in the cockpit.

It may have to do with loading near rated limits, I don't know, but something to consider.
__________________
Dan Morris
Frederick, MD
PA28-140
Hph 304CZ
RV6 built and sold
N199EC RV6A flying
Retired Aerospace Engineer and A&P/IA
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2015, 01:18 PM
RV6_flyer's Avatar
RV6_flyer RV6_flyer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NC25
Posts: 3,609
Default


At around $130 USD each, that is not a part that I would really want to use.
__________________
Gary A. Sobek
NC25 RV-6
Flying
3,400+ hours
Where is N157GS
Building RV-8 S/N: 80012

To most people, the sky is the limit.
To those who love aviation, the sky is home.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-02-2015, 01:31 PM
RKellogg RKellogg is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Newark, IL
Posts: 287
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by RV6_flyer View Post
At around $130 USD each, that is not a part that I would really want to use.
Especially when you need a dozen of 'em... but being stranded in East Overshoe on a Saturday night isn't cheap either.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-02-2015, 01:48 PM
marsolgp marsolgp is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 29
Default Do you really want cheap switch/breakers?

As Dan has stated, go check out what others have experienced. I too had a W31 that failed.... They work fine as switch, problem is my failure mode was that it wouldn't open when shorted.... $130 is cheap insurance.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-02-2015, 03:28 PM
RKellogg RKellogg is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Newark, IL
Posts: 287
Arrow condition inspection ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by marsolgp View Post
As Dan has stated, go check out what others have experienced. I too had a W31 that failed.... They work fine as switch, problem is my failure mode was that it wouldn't open when shorted.... $130 is cheap insurance.
Hmm. So should each circuit breaker be deliberately shorted to verify that it will trip? ...Maybe as part of annual condition inspection?

BTW, I really do not like the 'feel' of the switch action on these switch breakers. Mushy, indistinct, vague. And just a light tap causes them to switch to the "off" condition.

I think I am starting to favor a good, accessible fuse block feeding conventional switches... reliable, inexpensive, simple failure modes, easy recovery, but more panel space.

- Roger
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-02-2015, 03:46 PM
marsolgp marsolgp is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 29
Default Testing C.B.'s

That's exactly how I found mine faulted. I checked it before installation, but testing them at some interval, annual condition insp or such may not be a bad idea. I guess that's an individual choice. And you're right, the old fuse is hard to beat, if panel space allows......
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:22 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.