VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > ADS-B
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-24-2018, 02:28 PM
Westerhuis Westerhuis is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Boston (MA)
Posts: 84
Default Replace the GTX 327 with the GTX 355

Hi

Hope those at KOSH got in and are enjoying the show.

I’m at KOSH and I’m thinking to take advantage of Garmin GTX 335 package deal that includes the WAAS GPS.

I’ve spoken to a few vendors to find out how big a job it really is to change the two. I get super mixed messages. I appreciate it depends on my current set-up etc. But assuming I’m capable of mounting the GPS receiver and routing the coax, how much more technical work needs doing.

I already have a Garmin 696 in my panel. Could my new WAAS GPS aerial feed both the 696 and transponder?

Mind you, I’m a complete novice when it comes to wiring and avionics.

Thanks

Rogier
__________________
RV6 - co-owner G-GDRV (sold)
RV8 - co-owner G-RRVV (sold)
RV8 - proud owner N774BC

2018 dues paid

Last edited by Westerhuis : 07-24-2018 at 07:28 PM. Reason: Typo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-24-2018, 03:13 PM
Raymo's Avatar
Raymo Raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Richmond Hill, GA (KLHW)
Posts: 2,289
Default

Rogier,

The short answer to using the 355 GPS for the 696: No

The tray for the 355 is different than the 327 and connectors are also different, so you'll be pulling all the 327 stuff out except for its wiring to the back of the tray. Your altitude encoder may be able to stay. Check the 355 documentation for requirements.
__________________
Ray
RV-7A - Slider - N495KL - First flt 27 Jan 17
O-360-A4M w/ AFP FM-150 FI, Dual PMags, Vetterman Trombone Exh, SkyTech starter, BandC Alt (PP failed after 226 hrs)
Catto 3 blade NLE, FlightLines Interior, James cowl, plenum & intake, Anti-Splat -14 seat mod and nose gear support
All lines by TSFlightLines (aka Hoser)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-25-2018, 12:14 AM
jliltd jliltd is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Rancho San Lorenzo
Posts: 983
Default

Roger. Why not keep your nice functional GTX 327 and just add a GDL-82 or a uAvionix echoUAT to your bird? The GDL-82 won't even require another bottom antenna. The echo will. If you don't have a WAAS navigator for position you will need to add a dedicated GPS antenna. Usually under the cowl on a shelf bracket. Keep what you have and save tons of money.

While at the show look at the following UAT ADS-B out solutions in no particular order:
Garmin GDL-82 (add on)
Sandia Sentinel (transponder replacement)
Freeflight Rangr Lite (add on)
uAvionix echoUAT (add on) - I prefer the one with the SkyFYX-EXT integrated GPS source/antenna.

Jim
__________________
RV-8
(a few more airplanes too)

Last edited by jliltd : 07-25-2018 at 12:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-25-2018, 02:13 AM
JonJay's Avatar
JonJay JonJay is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Battleground
Posts: 4,348
Default

I am in the same boat. I wish I had my 327 at Osh to take advantage of the update as mine is too old to work directly.
__________________
Smart People do Stupid things all the time. I know, I've seen me do'em.

RV6 - Builder/Flying
Bucker Jungmann
Fiat G.46 -(restoration in progress, if I have enough life left in me)
RV1 - Proud Pilot.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-25-2018, 06:20 AM
Westerhuis Westerhuis is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Boston (MA)
Posts: 84
Default

Thanks all. I did consider that option but I need a transponder that I can use in Europe in due course, so this would serve two purposes at one.
__________________
RV6 - co-owner G-GDRV (sold)
RV8 - co-owner G-RRVV (sold)
RV8 - proud owner N774BC

2018 dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-25-2018, 04:41 PM
jliltd jliltd is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Rancho San Lorenzo
Posts: 983
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonJay View Post
I am in the same boat. I wish I had my 327 at Osh to take advantage of the update as mine is too old to work directly.
The 327 is NOT too old to work with the GDL82 as the 82 does not depend on the software. Only the embedded code found in the antenna lead. Your GTX 327 software level only matters if you plan on using a GDL-88 or perhaps a Freeflight Rangr with it's serial interface.

And Westerhuis. Yes. If you plan on mainland Europe then you will want 1090ES out and not UAT. The rest of North America doesn't require 1090ES (and don't let the FAA or Garmin tell you different).

Jim
__________________
RV-8
(a few more airplanes too)

Last edited by jliltd : 07-25-2018 at 04:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-25-2018, 09:29 PM
Tankerpilot75's Avatar
Tankerpilot75 Tankerpilot75 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 586
Default

Last year I swapped out my old 330 (non-Es) for the 335 with gps. I purchased it through Steinair and had them make a conversion cable for me. It wasn?t too costly (around $100) and greatly simplified the installation process. SteinAir was also very helpful with the programming changes that were required to make sure my 430, GRT EFIS and new 335 all played together well.

I?m definitely not great with wiring but Steinair and this forum can get you through any installation issues you might encounter.
__________________
Jim Harris, ATP, T38, EC/KC-135A/E/R, 2008 RV7A, 2nd owner, N523RM (2015)
Superior XPIO-360, Hartzel CS prop, Aerotronics panel with Dual GRT Horizon WS, EIS, Garmin 340, 335 w/WAAS gps, Dual 430s (non-WAAS), TruTrak 385 A/P with auto-level, Electric trim, Tosten 6 button Military Grips, FlightBox wired to WS, Dynon D10A w/battery backup, 406 MHz ELT. Custom Interior, New TS Flightline hoses, Great POH!
Retired - Living the dream - going broke!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-16-2019, 01:08 PM
Saville's Avatar
Saville Saville is offline
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: KBVY Massachusetts
Posts: 1,143
Default

Does anyone know if there is enough space behind the RV-8 instrument panel to contain the 1.3" longer 335?

I have a GTX 327 as well and I'm wrestling with the two options:

1. GDL-82

2. GTX 335

the GDL 82 seems like a lot more work. And more maintenance to keep the software upgraded. Plus in the future I intend to do a thorough panel upgrade and it might be nice to have something like a 335 to begin with.
__________________
Flying RV-8 N880BC
2021 Dues - happily paid.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-16-2019, 07:19 PM
Ted RV8 Ted RV8 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 430
Default

Saville,
Just put the GDL-82 in my 8 which has a Garmin GTX-327 transponder. No complaints so far and about half the cost of the GTX-335.

To answer you question on the depth It looked to be at least 2” clearance behind the GTX-327. Didn’t measure it and going from memory.

Personally think the GDL-82 was less work then a new tray and wiring for the GTX-335. Mounted the GDL-82 on the rear bulkhead for the forward baggage compartment. Unplug cable from transponder and plug into GDL-82. New 2’ long cable from the GDL-82 to the GTX-327. Minimal wiring positive and negative 12 volt. Only a couple more wires if you want the ADS-B out light and and an anonymous switch. Not sure what you mean about software upgrades.

Contemplated the same scenario you’re doing right now and chose the GDL-82 route for ease of install and a lot less cost.

ArlingtonRV also did similar install on his 8. Here’s a link to his thread with some phots.
http://www.vansairforce.com/communit...d.php?t=167777

Last edited by Ted RV8 : 01-16-2019 at 07:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-16-2019, 07:46 PM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 5,840
Default

The 327's have been around a long time, some are pretty old, so you decide if it's worth it or not to replace the transponder with a new unit.
If you have an old KT76A, Narco, etc. it's a no brainer.

GTX335 - $2995
GDL82 - $1795
__________________
Walt Aronow, DFW, TX (52F)

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1700+ hrs, New Titan IO-370, Bendix Mags
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:19 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.