VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Main > RV Building Tips/Techniques
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2022, 03:50 PM
Steve Crewdog's Avatar
Steve Crewdog Steve Crewdog is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: KBVS
Posts: 242
Default Adel clamp with Tinnerman nuts?

Think it's possible? Want to put one in a place where it would be difficult to reach the nut, so I'm thinking.....
__________________
SeaRey builder lurking to get ideas to make his plane better, and keep his build from stopping like a gear down landing in water.
Dues paid for 2022
http://seareybuild.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2022, 05:04 PM
Desert Rat Desert Rat is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 916
Default

Personally I wouldn't trust a tinnerman against the tension trying to spring an adel clamp back apart.

don't know your particular application, but is it not possible to install a nut plate?
__________________
Terry Shortt
AGI, CFI, CFII, MEI, A&P, Janitor
RV7 Empennage & Wing done
Fuselage in process
#72651
https://eaabuilderslog.org/?blprojec...t=all&listcat=
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2022, 05:24 PM
Steve Crewdog's Avatar
Steve Crewdog Steve Crewdog is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: KBVS
Posts: 242
Default

Thanks, Terry. I'm thinking about using an Adel to hold avionics wiring on the back of the instrument panel with very little access, odds are I'll never need to remove the wiring from the clamp but it would be a lot easier to not blindly hold the nut while fighting against the clamp while trying to tighten the screw. Everywhere else I have plenty of access, it's just this one spot...

AN3 bolt is a 10/32 nutplate, right?
__________________
SeaRey builder lurking to get ideas to make his plane better, and keep his build from stopping like a gear down landing in water.
Dues paid for 2022
http://seareybuild.blogspot.com/

Last edited by Steve Crewdog : 06-10-2022 at 05:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2022, 05:43 PM
Stevea Stevea is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 222
Default

Zip tie or safety wire the adel closed, then install screw/adel/nut loosely in place. Clip the tie/safety wire. Finish tightening the screw/nut. Semi-pro tip: use .025 safety wire…..tends to stab the fingers a bit less than .032 wire.
__________________
Steve Allison
RV-6A - sloooowwww build
First flight - 3/8/14
Phase II - 5/19/14
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2022, 05:46 PM
Desert Rat Desert Rat is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 916
Default

Funny that you're talking about this in regard to the instrument panel. I'm just wrapping up that agony.

Yes, an AN3 has 10-32 threads, so it's a #10 nutplate.

Obviously do whatever you think best, but I just used #8 screws for most of my wire bundle adel clamps. Where I thought I might have trouble getting a screwdriver on the heads, I went with allen head screws.

For me, figuring out how to route and secure these wire bundles so that they don't chafe or interfere with something else, and have future servicing in mind has taken a lot longer that the actual wiring.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6949.jpg
Views:	147
Size:	385.0 KB
ID:	26882  
__________________
Terry Shortt
AGI, CFI, CFII, MEI, A&P, Janitor
RV7 Empennage & Wing done
Fuselage in process
#72651
https://eaabuilderslog.org/?blprojec...t=all&listcat=
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2022, 05:54 PM
Steve Crewdog's Avatar
Steve Crewdog Steve Crewdog is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: KBVS
Posts: 242
Default

Thanks, Steve. Good idea with the .025 wire.

Right there with you, Terry. Slapping it together was easy, but a few years ago an old, retired USN avionics tech stopped by my hangar one day and grilled me about how I was going to repair it and I went Ummm..... So I went into Undo, redo, look at it again, undo/redo mode, and maybe a couple years later (like today with the AN3 nutplate) taking something I learned in a different part of the build and transferring it to avionics compartment.

Been working on my wires for a few years now, I'm really looking forward to getting it done but do enjoy the challenge. Sometimes.



You've got a great build log, btw.
__________________
SeaRey builder lurking to get ideas to make his plane better, and keep his build from stopping like a gear down landing in water.
Dues paid for 2022
http://seareybuild.blogspot.com/

Last edited by Steve Crewdog : 06-10-2022 at 06:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-10-2022, 05:59 PM
Scott Hersha Scott Hersha is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 2,290
Default

Steve, if you have access to install a platenut, then that is the best way to go. If not, maybe you could install a rivnut. I wouldn’t use one of these on a connection that you have to frequently use, but it sounds like you may not need to remove this connection very often, if ever. Next, have you considered using screw mount zip tie to secure the wire bundle to the platenut/rivnut?


https://ziptieszone.com/products/kab...xoCC8EQAvD_BwE

These are available at various sources, but offer an alternative to securing a wire bundle where overall stress load on the bundle isn’t too great, and it’s very easy to replace if you need to.
__________________
SH
RV6/2001 built 2000/sold 2005
RV8 Fastback/2008 built/sold 2015
RV4/bought 2016/sold/2017
RV8/2018 built/Sold(sadly)
RV4/bought 2019/sold2021
RV6/Used kit purchased 2021 building
Cincinnati, OH/KHAO
JAN2022
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-10-2022, 06:10 PM
Steve Crewdog's Avatar
Steve Crewdog Steve Crewdog is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: KBVS
Posts: 242
Default

Thanks Scott, I didn't know those existed. Interesting but I don't think they'd work.

Apologies, I should clarify:

-the thread drift asking about a AN3/10/32 nutplate is for a different area, not part of this thread.

-this is what the thread is regarding, back right side of the panel with the transition from the panel-avionics tray (not pictured).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20220610_170512 (Large).jpg
Views:	116
Size:	433.9 KB
ID:	26885  
__________________
SeaRey builder lurking to get ideas to make his plane better, and keep his build from stopping like a gear down landing in water.
Dues paid for 2022
http://seareybuild.blogspot.com/

Last edited by Steve Crewdog : 06-10-2022 at 06:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-11-2022, 01:10 AM
gasman gasman is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 4,451
Default

ACE Hardware has these.....

Click image for larger version

Name:	clamp.JPG
Views:	16
Size:	24.9 KB
ID:	26898
Easy to close. Good for wires and light duty service.
__________________
VAF #897 Warren Moretti
2021 =VAF= Dues PAID
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-11-2022, 04:59 AM
Tooch Tooch is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Amelia, Va
Posts: 340
Default Clamp tool

Bought one of these at Oshkosh last year.

https://www.wicksaircraft.com/shop/a...IaAjaKEALw_wcB
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:19 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.