What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Hey fighter guys!

flyinhood

Well Known Member
I'm new to RV flying and have a pure civilian background.

As I read up on acro it seems like "corner speed" may have a similar meaning as "maneuver speed"

Pull 6 Gs in an RV below Va and you will experience an accelerated stall. Pull 6 Gs faster than Va and you may damage the aircraft.

Heavier aircraft (more inertia) = faster Va.

Can this mean the same as "corner speed"?

Thanks in advance

Not quite.

Corner velocity (speed) is that minimum speed that your aircraft can pull maximum G, but you will almost certainly also lose energy while doing so. At corner speed, you will achieve your maximum turn rate.

Corner velocity is also the speed at which, if slightly exceeded, one can over-g the aircraft (if not artificially limited by a flight control system).

As an extension to the first paragraph, any maximum G turns at speeds in excess of corner speed will result in a lower turn rate per second, and an increased turn radius.

Ok. So could one say that in an RV if one was to fly at Va and introduce the max (6G as an example) than that would yield the corner speed or max efficient speed per unit G?

Asked another way. Would the corner speed of a fighter change with aircraft weight?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maneuvering_speed

"In the context of air combat maneuvering (ACM), the maneuvering speed is also known as corner speed or cornering speed.[2]"

I'm curious from an academic point of view / civilian teaching in my RV.

Last edited:
Not a fighter guy but former IAC acro type in Pitts. Anyone, feel free to throw darts, this is just ballpark testing that worked for me in an RV-6 at 1350 pounds, standard day, PA of 3000 feet.

Cornering velocity gives maximum turn RATE. It may be pulling the g imit at maneuvering speed, but it won't be maintained long without descending to use gravity.