VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.






VAF on Twitter:
@VansAirForceNet

  #11  
Old 12-01-2022, 07:07 AM
Southern Pete Southern Pete is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: England
Posts: 231
Default

If not using a GPS input I would try real hard to arrange one - it is only 1 wire.
If not available read the instructions on how to align the internal sensor, it may never work that well depending on the interference from other systems in the aircraft, and may be worse of some headings than others.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-01-2022, 09:53 AM
TruTrakAndrew's Avatar
TruTrakAndrew TruTrakAndrew is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Posts: 230
Default

again, the responses here are perfect.

on the GPS front, agreed that you really should have one (even a handheld is just fine).
__________________
Andrew Barker
Andrew.Barker(at)Honeywell.com
Honeywell
TruTrak

RV-4 214NY "Carrie Ann"
RV-10 989TS - undergoing complete overhaul!!!
Rans S21 - 6219B
EAA - 309420
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-01-2022, 10:18 AM
MacCool's Avatar
MacCool MacCool is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central Minnesota
Posts: 1,466
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TruTrakAndrew View Post
again, the responses here are perfect.

on the GPS front, agreed that you really should have one (even a handheld is just fine).
My AFS TruTrak Digiflight works very, very well…precise and reliable…but I have to turn the AP master on after start-up and best not move the airplane until the AP tells me it’s got satellites.

Question for Andrew…the perennial question is whether or not modern avionics can be on when the plane is started or when the main Master is turned off. I my AP is on the avionics Master, but also has its own power switch. What’s the verdict on the TruTrak Digiflight II? Should it be off at start-up and shutdown, or does is it surge and voltage-drop protected enough to matter?
__________________
RV-9A, 2011, bought flying
IO-320D1A (factory new), C/S
Dual Pmags
IFR equipped
AFS 5400/3500, G5, IFD440 navigator,
bunch of other stuff

Last edited by MacCool : 12-01-2022 at 10:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-01-2022, 11:05 AM
TruTrakAndrew's Avatar
TruTrakAndrew TruTrakAndrew is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Posts: 230
Default

lol, I think there are lots of opinions on this one...but...

I will say that modern avionics (TruTrak products included) have robust power supplies and shouldn't have any issues with potential spikes during engine start.

I also still have a master switch and basically all of my stuff is off at startup anyway. The voltage is going to drop enough that most everything will reset, so I just leave it off until after the fan is turning.

As far as the autopilot goes, you are fine either way.

Also, to be noted...most of the time when I answer a question here it is because the amazing ROY THOMA has let me know there is a question. If any of you meet up with him, buy him a drink. He's just simply the best!
__________________
Andrew Barker
Andrew.Barker(at)Honeywell.com
Honeywell
TruTrak

RV-4 214NY "Carrie Ann"
RV-10 989TS - undergoing complete overhaul!!!
Rans S21 - 6219B
EAA - 309420

Last edited by TruTrakAndrew : 12-01-2022 at 11:07 AM. Reason: trying to get Roy beer for helping support RV owners. :-)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-01-2022, 11:16 AM
MacCool's Avatar
MacCool MacCool is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central Minnesota
Posts: 1,466
Default

Thank you. Having kind of a “legacy” autopilot that, for me, works great and does everything I want it to…I appreciate your presence here and ready willingness to share. I’d buy both you AND Roy a beer anytime.
__________________
RV-9A, 2011, bought flying
IO-320D1A (factory new), C/S
Dual Pmags
IFR equipped
AFS 5400/3500, G5, IFD440 navigator,
bunch of other stuff
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-01-2022, 03:54 PM
Pilotjim77 Pilotjim77 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: CHESHIRE, MA
Posts: 315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rw2 View Post
1: I don't know what that means.
2: Wilco
3: No GPS. Heading only on this one.
4: Wilco
5: Thanks!
I have a similar TT unit to yours, and if no gps is connected, it only flies by the bank angle you dial in, from zero to 30 degrees left or right.
__________________
Jim

Purchased July 2019: RV-6 0320 Whirlwind Ground Adjustable Prop

"We can porpoises?" -- Leo Farnsworth
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-12-2022, 02:37 PM
rw2 rw2 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Location: San Miguel de Allende, MX
Posts: 5
Default

Got back in the air over the weekend after an extended time walking. Flew from San Diego to Chicago. Lots of time to re-test the autopilot. Without the manual all I could really do is make sure that the thing was completely booted up before moving the plane. Despite doing this, it was still wandering quite a bit, so I don't think that's the solution.

However, in 10 or so hours of flying, I did have some legs where it worked just fine. Including the longest leg of almost three hours where it flew nicely almost the entire time.

Very strange.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:53 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.