What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Rituals and superstitions

stevemcgirr

Well Known Member
Yesterday, in the eyes of the FAA, N1991M was elevated from building project to airplane. Now that my plane has airworthy status, I turn to planning for the test flights of Phase 1. I am rather new to aviation (a test pilot will be flying my plane at first), so I am not as steeped in the traditions, lore and tribal knowledge of you more experienced aviators.
So help me out: what are the necessary rituals, practices, superstitions and talismans that insure a successful first flight, flight testing, and long and happy flying service of a new airplane?
AC 90-89A is helpful for the serious preparations, but says nothing about rabbit's feet, lucky charms, or clover. (Horse shoes seem rather heavy)

Let me in on the secret handshake! What do I need?

What you need is...

Steve,

It's december in Oregon, you need clear skies! Hopefully Salem is in your phase 1 area. Fly up and show off your baby! Congratulations

Kai

Rituals and Superstitions......

........Try logic and science! And a calm disposition, if your the type to panic in a sitiuation that happen unexpected, best to let someone else test it farther.

what are the necessary rituals, practices, superstitions and talismans that insure a successful first flight, flight testing, and long and happy flying service of a new airplane?

To ensure success, you must ship a case of good quality local ale to:

Perry Hill Automobile Company
1000 Perry Hill Road
Montgomery AL 36109

I'll take care of the rest ;)

Rituals and Superstitions......

....This is very important!!! :rolleyes: