What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Sport Air workshop vs. Grove Air?

V111Pilot

Anyone have input regarding taking the new RV builders class from EAA SportAir (Oshkosh) or from Grove Air (Danville Il.)? I am a new builder and am wondering if the two are very simular or if you would recommend one over the other. Thanks!

Hey - I attended the basic RV sheet metal class ag Grov-Air around 4 years ago. I went in knowing very little about aircraft construction, and came out knowing enough to get started on my RV-7A. Class sizes were small (3 groups of 2 I think).

I can't comment directly about the similiar Sport Air class, but I walked by the class room for this class when I was at OshKosh taking an electrical wiring class and the class size looked much larger.

If the drives and costs are similiar, I'd lean towards Grov-Air, but don't think it would be a problem at all to attend the Sport Air workshop instead.

Hope this helps,
Jason

If the drives and costs are similiar, I'd lean towards Grov-Air, but don't think it would be a problem at all to attend the Sport Air workshop instead.

First, there is no wrong answer. Both are great classes. I haven't taken this class through SportAir, but I did take the Fiberglass class and observed the metal class.

I concur with Jason. I took Troy's class almost six years ago. You'll get more personalized attention at Grov-Air. What I really benefited is that he had the standard tool kits from various vendors. You can try the various models out and determine which you prefer before making that big purchase for a tool bundles from Avery, Cleaveland, or Isham. Also, the poster that Troy put together has been a godsend during my build. It's got all the drill bit and screw conversions on it. I probably use that a couple times a week for the past five years. It's mounted on the wall in my hangar.

bob