What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Spark plug torque

carguy614

Well Known Member
Getting different numbers when inquiring about plug torque values for Lycoming 0-320. Looks like 30 ft. lbs. Sounds tight to me...Is this correct??

Thanks...Chris

Correct torque for spark plugs on the O-320 is 420 in/lbs. or 35 ft/lbs. per Lycoming manual.

Last edited:
Getting different numbers when inquiring about plug torque values for Lycoming 0-320. Looks like 30 ft. lbs. Sounds tight to me...Is this correct??

Thanks...Chris

I've been using 25 ft lbs (with new gaskets) for 11 years and 2000 + hours. Never had a problem with lossening up or blow by. Your mileage may vary.
Tm

From the Champion Manual

I have written in my POH a spark plug torque of 30-35 ft lbs that I believe I got from the Champion's Aviation Spark plug manual. The guy in the hanger next to me is an IA and has all kinds of source material like that. I have been using 400 in-lb (right in the middle).

Last edited:
Don't forget to use anti-seize on the threads. Torque is just a crude way of attempting to get proper tension in a joint by measuring friction. While most torque values are based on "dry" surfaces, I believe that the aviation plug suppliers base their numbers on a lubricated surface.
Terry

anyone have a smart idea to torque problem plugs?

I picked this thread just 'cause it has the best title.

I know the Lyc. spark plug torque is 420 in/lbs or 35 ft/lbs, but there's always those one or two plugs you can't get a torque wrench on.....using a U-joint ruins the torque transfer.

anyone have any bright ideas?
what about those colour coded torque stick/extensions from the auto parts store? I think they flex or 'give' when the correct torque is reached, so you could apply pressure with more dewices!? :)