VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 02-27-2021, 08:58 AM
KRAUSEGB KRAUSEGB is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CAMARILLO, CALIFORNIA
Posts: 122
Default 496 data downloads

For some of us that built the early 12s. I have the D--180 and G-496.
I tried to do an update for data and firmware last week but was not able to communicate with the 496 using mygarmin. Garmin said that my usb-2 and 496 were to slow to talk with the streaming download. Has anyone found a way to make the communication work?
On another note, I noticed that I no longer have my wind vector and speed showing up on the D-180. I think that is because I didn't change the setting in the setup menu back to what it was before the download try. What should the setting be so that the 496 will communicate with the 180?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2021, 09:15 AM
NinerBikes NinerBikes is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Granada Hills
Posts: 1,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KRAUSEGB View Post
For some of us that built the early 12s. I have the D--180 and G-496.
I tried to do an update for data and firmware last week but was not able to communicate with the 496 using mygarmin. Garmin said that my usb-2 and 496 were to slow to talk with the streaming download. Has anyone found a way to make the communication work?
On another note, I noticed that I no longer have my wind vector and speed showing up on the D-180. I think that is because I didn't change the setting in the setup menu back to what it was before the download try. What should the setting be so that the 496 will communicate with the 180?
Try calling Dynon technical services on Monday - Friday. Or if you have the Dynon D-180 manual, it might be in there, during "setup." It's usually some sort of baud rate choice, 10,800, or more or less. You could ask Garmin, too, what the baud rate is on their G-496 for output. RFSchaller would have the settings off of his D-180 -G496 built plane, maybe PM him, or he shows up here, later.
__________________
Donated
RV-12, #212 N72DJ, bought flying. A Blessing in disguise. Thank you Double D!

Last edited by NinerBikes : 02-27-2021 at 09:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2021, 10:36 AM
OKAV8r OKAV8r is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 148
Default slow or fast?

Last time I updated my 496s, I had to call Garmin, due to the download failing.
support suggested my USB was too fast, and instructed me to run the connection thru an old USB hub I had collecting dust - in an effort to reduce the speed of the data stream. It worked
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2021, 02:49 PM
bobg56 bobg56 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 158
Default

If I remember correctly you go into the D180 to find the G496...I have the 495 and had to do that after an update to the D180...that info may be on an old thread here that was about 2 years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2021, 10:28 AM
KRAUSEGB KRAUSEGB is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CAMARILLO, CALIFORNIA
Posts: 122
Default

Thanks for the help. Will try the slower USB with a PC.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:59 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.