What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Online Electrical System Designer

eatenbyagrue

Hi All,

I'm getting closer every day to being ready to start in on electrical on my 7A, and getting organized has been a bit of a challenge. Being a software engineer, I've been toying with the idea of creating a web application to help organize all the pieces. I've been thinking Vertical Power for my system, and I was fortunate enough to meet Marc Ausman at Sun and Fun last year. Marc liked the idea of doing something Vertical Power specific, so after a bit of discussion, we're working together on an online tool to help builders design their electrical system.

We'll probably have something online in the next few weeks. We're in beta with a web-based tool that lets you add multiple devices to your aircraft, then configure all your switches, circuit breakers, alternator config, etc. It then automatically creates a load planning worksheet, an electrical diagram and a buying guide for your configuration.

Here's are some screenshots of our work in progress.

fsmLX.png

RxGyI.png

A little perspective from the group here would be very helpful... what was the biggest challenge for you in organizing your electrical system? Are there specific areas that you overlooked, found confusing or otherwise would have liked to have help with? Our thought is to collect feedback from the VAF crew on anything particularly helpful we could add...

If you're interested in hearing more when we go live, Marc will be announcing the tool on their newsletter, you can sign up at http://VerticalPower.com.

Initial thoughts much appreciated!

Regards,
Josh

Great Idea

I'm going with two 10" Skyviews and a basic Z13/8 architecure. Dynon is now beginning to make a little noise about going ahead with interfacing with Vertical Power so I am VERY INTERESTED. I will be watching for this in Marc's newsletter.
Thanks,
Bob

brilliant