What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

New to the airforce

Russ

I'm New Here
I am going to start a RV9a soon and am looking at either the week long empennage class or basic metal working two day class. any thoughts? i am good with wood and think i can transition easy.

Welcome Russ

Woodworking skills, while different, translate well. Find some local help and don't be afraid to ask questions.

Good luck - I've been flying my -9A for about 6 months and it is a hoot.

Welcome.

I don't want to discourage a class. I'm sure my emp would have come out even better if I had built it under the supervision of someone who knows what they are doing. Looking back I can see some mistakes and extra work that easily could have been avoided.

However, if you are unable to find a class, you can still do a good job building your airplane. You will be OK if you read some books on aircraft construction/maintenance, read all of the stuff that comes with the preview plans, find and talk to other local builders and build some of the van's practice kits. Oh, yeah, and you've already found this site - there's lot's of good info here and also on many individual builder's sites.

Sorry I can't recommend a class.

EAA Sport Air Workshop

I went thru the 2+ day Sport Air workshop taught by Tom Emery before I started my project. It was excellent.

Builder Classes

G'day Russ, don't know if Oregon is too far away from you but I would highly reccomend Wally Anderson at Synergy here in Eugene. I am probably a little biased as I am building my 7 in the same hanger but it's a great way get up to speed & learn the skills required, you could even combine it with a trip to Vans.

www.synergyair.com

Steve Emmett said:
I took the week long course in Griffin, Ga. and thought it was excellent and well worth the money.