What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Elevator trim tabs

sailvi767

Well Known Member
I had some information emailed to me on the Reno crash that has me thinking about the trim system on the RV. My background is aviation safety so I am always looking to avoid single failures that could cause major problems.
As I suspect most now know the P51 accident aircraft had been modified from the stock double tab system to a single tab system. The failure of the trim tab is estimated to have generated a instant 8 G pitchup combined with 150 to 200 lb stick kickback when the tab separated. The single tab system is essentially what the RV's have.
When the weather clears I am going to run a few test to get a idea of out of trim stick forces in the RV. The 6 I have is a bit faster then Vans numbers and I would like to have a idea of what forces I could expect. I realize that the speed range of the P51 is vastly greater then any RV however I wonder about single tab systems on Rockets and Super 8's or even a standard RV in a dive at VNE.
If anyone is aware of tab failures in the RV series and what the results were I would be interested in hearing the stories.

George

Hello George,
You may have seen the following info that was posted by Dave Rogers on the Beech list regarding the Reno event, maybe some of the Aero Engineers here could weigh in with respect to the RV trim system.

>> Typically dual trim tabs, or dual actuators, are fitted, as on the
>> Bonanza,
>> just because failure of a single trim tab at high speed will in fact
>> cause a "snap" to high Gs. The "solution" for the P-51 is, of course, to
>> use dual trim tabs as originally fitted.
>>
>> Why does failure of the trim tab system result in a high G "snap".
>>
>> If an elevator is not fitted with a trim tab, then the elevator
>> "free floats" to some angle depending on design conditions.