What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

About to purchase a plane, oil analysis looks bad?

SwimmingDragonfly96

Well Known Member
Hello,

I am in the process of purchasing a beautiful early 2000s RV6, very nice dual 10 inch panel, great fit and finish throughout from outside paint job to inside. It's paired to a TTSN 1000hr Superior XP 360 motor that burns a qt of oil every 5-6 hours.

Today, I requested the most recent oil analysis and it doesn't seem good, but I am new to the Vans world so I'm not sure exactly how bad it is. Is this motor on its way out?

Thanks for any help!

Newest.png

Middle.png

Oldest.png

Last edited:
I'd say there is cause for concern. No idea what price you are looking at, but I'd say you might want to price in an overhaul.

Any idea of the flight history? Did it sit a long time? Strongly recommend a good pre-buy inspection, included borescope and compression.

Any idea of the flight history? Did it sit a long time? Strongly recommend a good pre-buy inspection, included borescope and compression.[/QUOTE]

It’s not cheap, to be honest. It was purchased at 350 TTSN over 12 years. Since then it has been flying 100 hours per year.

Not catastrophic, but yes, cause for concern. The oil consumption is also, though not excessive, quite high.
Agree with Mickey’s good recommendations.

I’d want to see all the previous oil analyses, compression check history from as many previous Condition Inspections as are available, and get it borescoped as Mickey suggested. I’d be leery about making a purchase decision based on a single oil analysis.

Do you know who did the analysis? Granted, numbers are what they are, if the oil was analyzed to industry standard. Looking at the posted results, compared to those conducted by say, Blackstone or AOA, tend to be more informative.